Happy Heart, Sick Lungs

Happy Valentine’s Day, Internet!  I am not one of those people who believes that Valentine’s Day was created by the greeting card industry as a way to make money (although they do tend to capitalize on it).  I believe in LOVE, baby, and I think a day to celebrate it, whether created by greeting card companies or not, is a great idea.

I will be shipping off Malcom’s V-Day present to him today, which he’ll probably get sometime next week.  I know, I know.  I am a bad girlfriend and really bad about getting packages off in the mail…but I know he’ll love it when he eventually gets it.    

I received Malcom’s V-Day present early, because he likes to make me look bad is very timely about such matters.  He gave me a boxed set from my favorite coffee company (the one that his friend, Jeff, owns) and it included a to-go coffee mug, a Java dog hat, Java dog blend coffee, and a really cute card.  That, and the wooden box it came in is really cool and is sitting under my coffee pot as we speak. 

Speaking of Valentine’s day, which brings to mind hearts and such, which makes some people think about lungs…my health is in not-so-good shape at the moment.  I think I’ve already mentioned that I’m sexy fat, but apparently it’s the smoking that’s the real problem.

My doctor did a series of lung-function studies and called me yesterday to tell me the troubling news that I have “mild to moderate COPD.”  AWESOME.  I didn’t know someone my age (26) could develop such a condition, so I fell off my chair at work and went into hysterical convulsions was a little surprised.  I’m putting on the patch today and I’m sitting here chainsmoking the last few cigarettes…of my LIFE. 

I suppose it’s time I came out of denial anyway about my health.  It’s crazy when you’re 26 and your doctor is talking to you about COPD and being overweight and how your heart is not functioning properly.  I’m scheduled for a echocardiogram next week.  I was supposed to do it a few weeks ago, but I blew it off because….um, I guess I didn’t want to know if it was bad news.  Now that I already have the bad news about the COPD, I figure, why not find out how much longer I have to live know it all.  The mortality rate after 10 years is 50%, but I figure that once I move to AZ, my personal trainer will whip me into shape in all sorts of creative ways.  Hehe.

I will be making some major lifestyle changes, which shouldn’t be so hard, because there was a time in the not-so-distant future past (pardon me, Freudian slip) when I was quite the health nut…didn’t smoke, walked 3-6 miles a day, ate right, etc.  I know I can get there again, it’s just that it’s so much WORK.  I’m pretty pissed off at myself that I let myself get so out of whack.

I may be pissy and irritable for the next week or so while I’m trying to get over not smoking, so I’m going to apologize in advance for all of the raving, ranting, and rambling posts that are sure to come.  The good news is that things will level out after awhile and I’ll be back to living my insanely awesome and exciting normal life

Just remember, it’s Valentine’s Day.  Get out there and get your groove on.

Bow-chicka-bow-wow!

One thought on “Happy Heart, Sick Lungs

  1. “…because there was a time in the not-so-distant future when I was quite the health nut…didn’t smoke, walked 3-6 miles a day, ate right, etc. ”

    I can remember the not-so-distant past when you really were kickin’ butt and takin’ names in the health arena, and sure hope the not-so-distant future goes well for ya… XOXO PS Is that what they call a Freudian slip? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

