Kizzie — Protector of the Kingdom

Sometimes I get up in the middle of the night and can’t sleep for an couple of hours or so.  Tonight is one of those nights.  I think it probably has something to do with the way my internal clock is set. 

God forbid that I sleep for 9 hours straight.  Tonight I went to bed at 10:00, woke up at 2:15, and am getting tired again here at 3:30.  I’ll go back to bed soon and will then be able to sleep until about 5:30 or 6:00. 

On these nights, Kizzie feels that she must protect me from bumps in the night. 

She spent ten minutes “inspecting” an old paint bucket in the yard, because it was making mysterious noises, what with the wind blowing it across the concrete. 

A mouse apparently threatened the Kingdom of Rose, because she spent a good 15 minutes tossing one back and forth across the back yard before she snapped it’s neck and dropped it at my feet.  She was, of course, lavishly praised, although in reality it kinda grosses me out.

The next threat had to do with some branches in the neighbor’s yard scraping across the fence.  She didn’t manage to solve that problem, but she made sure to scare the bark out of the tree with her ferocity. 

It’s nice to know that I have someone here to protect me until I move to AZ and sleep next to Malcom, whom I am fairly certain still keeps a baseball bat in the bedroom for emergencies. 

I am fairly certain that he does not kill mice with it.  I could be wrong. 

Leave a Reply

