Good Karma = Free Meals

On Friday, I vowed to my mother that I would not spend another weekend sleeping.  I had a hard time last week attending work and actually working when I was there, and I needed something to snap me out of it.  That intense get-your-shit-together look from Mom did it. 

Friday evening was fairly decent.  I was over at Mom’s house (getting the get-it-together look) and had a good home-cooked, meal…which is a nice perk, because if I had just gone home, I probably would have just ate a bag of kettle corn had some soup. 

For some reason, I slept like a ton of bricks on Friday night.  I didn’t get up until 9:45, which wasn’t good, because I had therapy and it is a 30 minute drive away.  I called Goddess of Mindfulness and rescheduled for next week. 

I ended up at Mom’s, getting a check for groceries, because my money-handling skills were never developed have been a bit out of hand.  If I have a debit card or cash in hand, I might make five to ten purchases in a day without thinking about it.  It’s better to just get a check when I need one.

I then went home and spent some time with my dog.  She ran around like a crazed redneck likes the vacuum and especially likes throwing toys at my feet while I am trying to get things done.  I ended up getting all of my laundry done and my house was back to normal spotless by the time I had finished.

I just can’t stand any clutter…and there is a place for everything.  And God forbid that there be dust bunnies behind the couch or my humidifier not be full or my bed not be made.  Who knows what would happen…a plague of cockroaches…visitors may think I’m a slob…my head might explode.  That and I’m pretty sure that one day, some journalist or possibly a local CBS new crew will show up at my house, looking for my opinion (because I’m important) and I want my house to look nice for the cameras.  🙂

Saturday evening I went to Dad’s and listened to our team win a regional semi-final.  Pretty exciting.  That, and another free meal, which I was excited about until…

I woke up puking in the middle of the night.  All over my bed, all over the floor.  Gross gross gross.  I really don’t understand why I was sick, because I didn’t eat anything that would make me sick (vegetarian split pea soup and a well-done turkey brat?) and I hadn’t, to my knowledge, overdosed on any of my meds.  Possibly it was a freak thing.  I really don’t know. 

So, I have spent most of the day doing laundry…again.  And straightening up my house unnecessarily again.  I’ve also managed to chat with Grandma, Malcom, see Peter, and pick up a few extra things at the grocery store.

I will be headed to Mom’s this evening for, yes, another free meal.  It’s almost St. Paddy’s Day, and we will be having the traditional boiled potatoes, cabbage, and corned beef.  YUM.  Let’s just hope it stays down.

So, all in all, a fairly decent weekend.  I always feel happy at the end of the weekend when my laundry is all done, my house is clean, and I have accomplished all of my missions.

For the upcoming week, I would like to put special effort into working while I am at work and also following through on my new committment to be nice to people. 

Got a candle?  Burn one for me.

Leave a Reply

