Kingdom of All Things Gross

I say all of the following with the preface that my house is extremely clean and tidy…

Kizzie and I had an interesting night.  She caught a few mice…while I was trying to sleep.  Picture me sleeping, mouth gaping open, possibly drooling (ok, you get the picture).  Then picture Kizz perched on the side of the bed, right next to my head, facing out toward the living room.  At around 10:30 and then again around 1:30 and then again at 2:00 she scrambled down as fast as her short legs could take her and sent some mice to mousie heaven.  Just when I was getting worried about her lack of Terrier skills. 

I just finished setting some traps in the basement, because I think that’s where they are originating, the huge Kingdom of All Things Gross.  I also whacked down a bunch of spider webs and stomped on some eggs.  Had I let them hatch, I would have had a terrifying amount of spiders occupying the house, and between them and the mice, Kizz and I may have been carried out in the middle of the night. 

I was feeling fairly sorry for myself yesterday, enough so that I deluded myself into thinking that maybe I could get some sympathy from my neighbor and Queen of Bonfires.  Neither was having it.  My neighbor told me that my life was easy and that I was “very free” and then she made me drink beer with her.  Total bitch, right?  And if you know QoB, you can imagine how that went.  Hrrrmmmmm. 

I snapped out of it sometime overnight and am feeling much better today, although it is just a matter of time before the sun starts to go down and I start feeling all whiney again.  Happens almost every time.  Something about watching the shadows grow longer makes me feel really anxious.  It’s even worse now that the days are getting shorter, but I am using my sunlamp, so hopefully I am warding off the bitch of Seasonal Affective Disorder that plagues me every year.  At least to the extent that I can ward it off. 

I haven’t had any profound insights into life here within the past few days, other than perhaps the fact that the upcoming election is a total joke and I don’t want to vote for either person.  Oh, and that it is totally possible that feeding my dog in the living room is not working out as well as I had originally anticipated.  There ya go, QoB.  I said it. 

I have found great satisfaction in screaming along with the following song when frustrated.  It’s a good screaming song.  Give it a try, really!  🙂  (See comments for lyrics…you’ll want to read them, guaranteed)

Dashboard Confessional, Vindicated

6 thoughts on “Kingdom of All Things Gross

  1. Hope dangles on a string
    Like slow spinning redemption
    Winding in and winding out
    The shine of which has caught my eye

    And roped me in
    So mesmerizing, so hypnotizing
    I am captivated

    I am Vindicated
    I am selfish
    I am wrong
    I am right
    I swear I’m right
    I swear I knew it all along

    And I am flawed
    But I am cleaning up so well
    I am seeing in me now the things you swore you saw yourself

    So clear
    Like the diamond in your ring
    Cut to mirror your intentions
    Oversized and overwhelmed
    The shine of which has caught my eye
    And rendered me so isolated, so motivated
    I am certain now that

    I am Vindicated
    I am selfish
    I am wrong
    I am right
    I swear I’m right
    I swear I knew it all along

    And I am flawed
    But I am cleaning up so well
    I am seeing in me now the things you swore you saw yourself

    So turn
    Up the corners of your lips
    Part them and feel my finger tips
    Trace the moment, fall forever
    Defense is paper thin
    Just one touch and I’d be in
    Too deep now to ever swim against the current
    So let me slip away [3x]
    So let me slip against the current
    and let me slip away [4x]

    I am Vindicated
    I am selfish
    I am wrong
    I am right
    I swear I’m right
    I swear I knew it all along

    And I am flawed
    But I am cleaning up so well
    I am seeing in me now the things you swore you saw yourself

    Slight hope
    It dangles on a string
    Like slow spinning redemption…

    Like

  2. I personally don’t like this song. There is way too much SIdeation and it makes me very uncomfortable…especially since the QofB’s daughter screams to it.

    Hope dangles on a string
    Like slow spinning redemption
    Winding in and winding out
    The shine of which has caught my eye

    And roped me in
    So mesmerizing, so hypnotizing
    I am captivated

    I hope you remain captivated by life. You do clean up real well, and there is a big wide world awaiting you. Darkness does fall each evening, but only for a heartbeat. Please remember… nooo, I’m not gonna do “The Sun Will Come Up Tomorrow” song… How about this one instead…

    Watching the SUn Come Up…

    You know it feels nice, watching the sun come up
    And I’ve realised I can never return
    Oh babe it feels good, watching the sun come up
    I can attack the day with the will to burn
    And the sky is a picture of violence
    Blood red and steely blue
    It has beauty that could never be silenced
    Oh yeah it reminds me of you
    And if you’re broken down lying face on the ground it’s too late
    For i’ve seen it all as the shadows fall
    When the dawn breakes
    I could never be beyond repair
    I could never be beyond repair
    Watching the sun come up
    And my hands; they are shaking
    Whilst my feet they cannot turn
    It’s all making sense; I’m finally taking
    Each day with the will to burn
    And the sky is a picture of violence
    Blood red and steely blue
    It has beauty that could never be silenced
    Oh yeah it reminds me of you
    And if you’re broken down lying face on the ground it’s too late
    For i’ve seen it all as the shadows fall
    When the dawn breakes
    I could never be beyond repair
    I could never be beyond repair
    Watching the sun come up
    It all could happen if I want it to (x 4)
    It feels nice watching the sun come up
    And I’ve realised I can never return
    Babe it feels good watching the sun come up
    I can attack the day with the will to burn…

    …XOXO Carpe Diem baby… even when it hurts. I love you.

    Like

  3. PS Come get a bunch of the hedge balls in my back yard to spread around the outside of your foundation, and ’round the corners in your basement. They are really excellent at repelling buggys who want to make your house their winter vacation spa. …XOXO

    Like

  4. Here is something from an old Traffic album that I have always liked. It is from a Broadway musical “The Roar Of The Greasepaint – The Smell Of The Crowd”.

    Feeling Good

    (Bricusse/Newley)

    Birds flying high you know how I feel
    Sun in the sky you know how I feel
    Breeze driftin’ on by you know how I feel

    It’s a new dawn
    It’s a new day
    It’s a new life
    For me
    And I’m feeling good

    Fish in the sea you know how I feel
    River running free you know how I feel
    Blossom on the tree you know how I feel

    It’s a new dawn
    It’s a new day
    It’s a new life
    For me
    And I’m feeling good

    Dragonfly out in the sun you know what I mean, don’t you know
    Butterflies all havin’ fun you know what I mean
    Sleep in peace when day is done
    That’s what I mean

    And this old world is a new world
    And a bold world
    For me

    Stars when you shine you know how I feel
    Scent of the pine you know how I feel
    Oh freedom is mine
    And I know how I feel

    It’s a new dawn
    It’s a new day
    It’s a new life
    For me
    And I’m feeling good

    Like

  5. In one of my past lives I used to listen to this song quite a bit. Recently I was reading the lyrics and I thought it was the voice of My Dear Queen singing to her princess.

    Box of Rain
    (Robert Hunter, Phil Lesh)

    Look out of any window
    any morning, any evening, any day
    Maybe the sun is shining
    birds are winging or
    rain is falling from a heavy sky
    What do you want me to do,
    to do for you to see you through?
    this is all a dream we dreamed
    one afternoon long ago

    Walk out of any doorway
    feel your way, feel your way
    like the day before
    Maybe you’ll find direction
    around some corner
    where it’s been waiting to meet you
    What do you want me to do,
    to watch for you while you’re sleeping?
    Well please don’t be surprised
    when you find me dreaming too

    Look into any eyes
    you find by you, you can see
    clear through to another day
    I know it’s been seen before
    through other eyes on other days
    while going home
    What do you want me to do,
    to do for you to see you through?
    It’s all a dream we dreamed
    one afternoon long ago

    Walk into splintered sunlight
    Inch your way through dead dreams
    to another land
    Maybe you’re tired and broken
    Your tongue is twisted
    with words half spoken
    and thoughts unclear
    What do you want me to do
    to do for you to see you through
    A a box of rain will ease the pain
    and love will see you through

    Just a box of rain
    wind and water
    Believe it if you need it,
    if you don’t just pass it on
    Sun and shower
    Wind and rain
    in and out the window
    like a moth before a flame

    It’s just a box of rain
    I don’t know who put it there
    Believe it if you need it
    or leave it if you dare
    But it’s just a box of rain
    or a ribbon for your hair
    Such a long long time to be gone
    and a short time to be there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

