The Pieces Fall Together

I have been horrible about blogging, so far out of my past routine that it seems as if that time was in a past life.  In a way, it was.  Life is totally different now.  My outlook, my goals, what I know, what I want and don’t want.  There is a clarity to my thoughts and I am also more able to play things forward in my head so that I don’t do anything too impulsive (at least sometimes).  Much less self-destructive behavior, if nothing else. 

I received an email the week before last, recruiting me to work at the state prison.  They had my resume on file from something I applied for last September, and requested I come in for an interview.  I’ve never been recruited for a job before…very flattering.  They knew me from work that I did with some of their inmates when I was at the mental health center.  At any rate, the clinical director called me yesterday and offered me the job. 

I almost have to pinch myself to make sure it’s real.  My role will be coordinating inmate discharges from the prison, making sure people have mental health and medical care, applying for benefits for them, etc.  The hours are 8-5, Monday thru Friday.  All of my work is done there at the prison…no putting inmates in my car, traveling to meet inmates, going into their homes after they leave.  There are no weekends, holidays, on-call, evenings.  They have a great benefits package.  I’ll actually accrue sick leave and vacation time at a normal rate again.  Oh, and it pays more than what I was making at the mental health center, by over a dollar, and more than what I am making now by almost six dollars an hour.  Bills will be much easier to pay now. 

So, yay!

I have been sick since Tuesday with bronchitis, a sinus infection, and laryngitis.  My voice is starting to come back and I have a little more energy.  I am going to try and make it through a day of work today, which I haven’t been able to do since Monday. 

It was really nice outside yesterday and Matt and I took Kizzer for a walk (she was beyond excited, let’s say!) and then came home and did the Bowflex (that Matt set up in the basement) for about 30 minutes.  I felt really REALLY good about myself afterwards.  Afterward, I made spaghetti with Italian sausage and broccoli while Matt went to tae kwan do.  He came home, we chatted and I did some stuff online while he applied for jobs.  We ate together and then watched one of our favorite TV shows, Battlestar Galactica, and then I read for awhile and went to bed.  I told Matt that I felt best when I follow a routine like that and he also agrees that it’s something he could get into easily. 

With getting off work at 5:00 p.m. now, I will really have no excuse to not get into and stay in a routine, other than sheer laziness and willfulness.  You don’t realize how much you miss that kind of stability until it is gone.  I felt so good at the end of the day yesterday!

So here in a few minutes, I’m going in to work for my shift and am turning in my resignation.  My last day will be Friday and then I will start at the prison on Monday.  I’m beyond excited. 

Regina Spektor, Fidelity

2 thoughts on “The Pieces Fall Together

  1. Congratulations on the new job! You deserve it so enjoy. I love love love that Spektor video. The hair on my neck always raises when the manikin turns into a man. So sweet it could put you into a sugar coma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

