I Got Skillz

I have really been treasuring “sleeping in” lately.  Work has been super-busy, with a lot of late nights, not getting home until almost 7:00 p.m. most nights.  That’s not terrible, considering I usually go in at 9:00 a.m., but there are days when I have to go in early and then stay late.  And then I’m exhausted.

So, with the “sleeping in” comes the “not-blogging.”  I was on a bit of a streak there last week, but it seems like life is so BUSY now.  The beauty in that is that staying busy and doing things keeps me happy, keeps me feeling good.  The downside is that I don’t have as much time to blog or sit in front of my sun lamp in the mornings.

Having been in that pattern where I do nothing but work minimal hours and sleep, I’ll take the current pattern any day.  I don’t do well when I have too much time to ruminate and dwell on every.little.thing.

I have been using a lot of self-soothe techniques lately, mostly music.  I find that if I am feeling overwhelmed or emotionally dysregulated, about ten or fifteen minutes of good music can leave me feeling really rejuvenated.  This weekend, I sat in front of Dr. Love’s computer (with the huge speakers and sub-woofer) and rocked out to Queen, trying to get it together for a trip to the grocery store.  I ended up being in really good spirits and was able to manage the anxiety that always comes with a trip to the store.

I have also been working on building mastery.  I’ve been cooking a lot, using recipes from Eat at Home, my new favorite website.  The writer’s focus is on low-cost, easy meals that can be made in bulk and then there are leftovers.  This helps immensely with nights where I don’t want to cook, just being able to pull something from the freezer that’s homemade, and also with packing lunches with leftovers.  I don’t have to think so much about what to take to work the next day, which is nice.

I’ve been rather domestic lately, using cleaning, cooking, and other little “chores” to build structure and distract myself when times are rough.  I really enjoy cooking for Dr. Love and I know he really appreciates eating something other than a piece of meat, a starch, and a veggie, which had always been my “go-to” meal.  And that’s not to say that there’s anything wrong with that, but you really can’t beat smothered steak with sauteed mushrooms and onions on a bed of homemade mashed potatoes or homemade pizza (the attempt at stromboli gone wrong) or chicken pot pie.  I know for a long time it seemed like the only really decent meal I could get was at QoB’s, but now it seems like I am turning out to be a pretty good cook.  Who would’ve thought?  🙂

I have DBT today and need to get my diary card filled out with all the skillfulness and effectiveness I have churned out in the past week.  I am really feeling pretty good and, even when I’m not feeling great, have been able to pull myself out of it by using my skills.  Yay for DBT!

I have found a new favorite artist using the “recommended for you” off YouTube.  Love it!

Stacie Orrico, So Simple

One thought on “I Got Skillz

Leave a Reply

