Getting Back on Track

Merry Christmas to all!  I have been up since 5:00 a.m. so I could see my dear Dr. Love off to work.  I wanted to send him off with a nice breakfast, but he refuses to put anything in his body besides Mountain Dew until at least 8:00.  Guess that means more eggs and toast for me!!

I appreciate the support I receive on this blog, especially from Pasha and QoB.  Very wise souls, they are.  I am receiving additional support from my SparkPeople site.  I have been very on track lately with eating and exercise and I owe a lot of that to the articles, community support, and food and exercise trackers.  I feel like I can actually DO this, LOSE this weight and get into a healthy zone again.

We went to the big city yesterday afternoon to spend time with my Dad, his wife, and my sister and her husband.  We had a really great time.  My sister made an awesome dinner of crab and mushroom soup, and cheddar biscuits.  We also had my very favorite hummus and pitas from my very favorite Middle Eastern bakery.  YUMMMM!  My sister is quite the cook and presents to us involved a variety of homemade candies, homemade peach preserves and pickled beets.  Even some homemade elderberry syrup.  My sister and her husband gave very thoughtful and creative gifts and I just hope they enjoy the gifts we are giving them as much as we will enjoy ours!

The thing I love most about Christmas is the giving.  I am really excited about all the presents we are giving everyone.  We gave my dad and his wife a water feature (fountain kit) that I think they are just going to LOVE.  They seemed really excited about it.  Kudos go to QoB and Big Dog for precillitating that one through the water garden store.  🙂

Many other lovely presents for our dear family, but I won’t be sharing any of the details until later because, well, my mom reads this blog and would just LOVE to get the scoop before it happens.  Love ya, Madre!  🙂

I am feeling really good today.  I have been getting back in my morning routine and it has made all the difference in the world.  Just in the past few days, I am sleeping better and am able to get up earlier.  I am love.love.LOVING my morning coffee and sunlamp routine.  I wish that I had found Cymbalta years ago, but am happy that I have it now.

I have grouped all of my holiday music onto a playlist on iTunes, and it is really awesome.  I didn’t realize I had such a great collection, but QoB still has a few CD’s I need to download.  Holiday music is one of the best things about Christmas.  I have been listening to it on the radio non-stop at work since about the middle of the month and anytime I am at home.  I am pretty sure, though, that I will be completely sick of it by the end of New Year’s.  That’s when Christmas will be over us, because we are going to celebrate Christmas in the middle-of-nowhere with Dr. Love’s family over New Years’ weekend.

Merry Christmas to all…I love you…and you…and you.  You know who you are!!

QoB and I like to rock it out to:

Mariah Carey, All I Want For Christmas is You

 

4 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

  1. It is interesting how things can begin to fall into place. In this case your morning routine was the catalyst. It is something that you are framilar and comfortable with. It also starts you day on a positive note.

    I have met several people who have had good results from Cymbalta. It is the first SNRI to deal all three of the brain chemicals that may be related to depression. I knew one person who spent years trying out various medication cocktails and he even had ECT. Now he is only taking 60 mg of Cymbalta and he is doing quite well.

    I believe that most people can make the transition towards a healthy diet. The two big problems are: it can be hard to find inexpensive produce; and having a healthy diet will require you to cook. I have been fortunate in that I have always lived near ethnic neighborhoods that have good old fashioned produce stands. Since they cater to the immigrant population they tend to be less expensive than the chain grocery stores. I can walk out of Padulla’s with a box full of fresh fruits and vegetables and spend only $20.

    Cooking is the hard one because it takes time. If you had a rough day at work you are often not in the mood to cook. I may cook any where from three to five times a week. Both my wife and I do not mind leftovers. We also both like salads. I became a salad fan when I first discovered Greek restaurants. I just love Greek salads. I always have lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumbers in the refrigerator. If you pick up a salad dressing jar you can easily make up your own vinegarettes. I typically will barbecue either chicken or steak every week, The leftovers then become part of a chicken or steak salad.

    The real eye opener in your diet is portion control. The number of calories per portion size can be downright scary. In a way you have to learn how to shrink your stomach. You have to learn how to not to eat until you are full. That is not easy because we have grown accustomed to eating until we are stuffed.

    Just keep at it. Try to add and keep healthy things in your life. Try to find a comfortable routine and try to stick with it. Then you will find that things will start falling into place.

    Like

    • You know Pasha I too had ECT treatments 2 1/2 years ago & they alone about killed me, & now I am on 120 mg of Cymbalta. About 4-5 months ago is when I finally recovered from the ECT treatments. It was a long, long road, I wouldn’t wish on anyone.

      Like

  2. I love reading your blogs, and I am so glad that Cymbalta is working for you ‘cuz that is what is working for me although double the dose. ~Yikes~ I just got a sunlight that you have been talking about via UPS yesterday & have starting using it while reading your post, so I hope it helps!

    You are so right, your Madre would peek at this blog to see what she would be getting-she was the one that always had all of her gift wrap off the present by the time we got to her to unwrap gifts.

    Too bad Dr. Love has to work today. We love both of you & Have a Merry Christmas. We hope to see you if we stop by later. Take care!! I have some good news to share. Merry Christmas. S & G

    Like

  3. If there’s one.stinkin’.thing. you’ve learned at the table of BigDog and QofB, this is the bestest… “The thing I love most about Christmas is the giving.” Yes. That’s it.

    Yeppers… you need to give and give. And sometimes, like tonight, when you were leaving, and struggling with a WTF, I just want to go home, and still had giving-time to put in before getting there… well, it’s hella priceless in the longrun. May not feel like it at the moment, but in the longrun, it preserves the soul.

    None of us at times feels like giving. In an imperfect world, what would it be like if there was no one to give? You, and I, and BigDog, and Dr Love would be screwed. Because we’ve been given to… and must pass it forward. It’s a part of why we love and admire each other.

    Second best for me, speaking personally, is that ’tis the first holiday season I can remember since forever, where you’ve been in it, enjoyed it, and made it yours. Hella lot of growth, and much willfulness and scategory set aside, in order to do so. Kudos to you, for all the hard work.

    MTLI….XOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

