Long Overdue

Well, here I am…appears that I made it through winter without too many glitches.  The last month has seen lots of changes, most for the better.  Since it has been so long since I have posted, and I have so many things on my mind, this could be a long one.

Dr. Love and I broke up about three weeks ago.  It was probably a long time coming and I shouldn’t have been as shocked as I was.  Things hadn’t been bad, but there hadn’t been much happiness, joy, or love.  It had come to the point where we were mostly roommates, forced to share space, both of us being annoyed about it.  The breakup has been for the best, and has really awakened me to some changes I will have to make in my life if I want it to be a long, happy one.

Exactly two days after Dr. Love and I broke up, I rescued a very cute, sweet, terribly skinny and abused female Yorkie from a nearby city.  She had been dumped on a gravel road out in the country, and somehow made it to a farm where she was picked up by the family that lived there and taken temporarily to their sister’s house inside the city.  I found out about her through an email that was sent out by one of my mom’s co-workers and then sent to me.  I knew at once that I had to have her.

She was getting used to me, getting accustomed to Kizzie, and then last weekend I went to visit my sister.  QoB watched Birdie for me, and I anticipated no problems, but she is a very skittish dog.  Everything was going fine at QoB’s with Birdie and mom’s other dogs, when Birdie went walk-about around 8:00 p.m. on Saturday night.  I was heartbroken.  When I hadn’t received a call (she had a tag on and I filed a missing dog report with the local shelter) by Tuesday, I was convinced that she was gone forever.  It had snowed on Sunday night and I just didn’t see how that tiny dog could have made it.  My best hope was that someone picked her up and decided to keep her.

Much to my surprise, I received a call around 9:30 p.m. on Wednesday asking if I had lost my dog.  I was dumbfounded and in shock.  I had really written Birdie off, believing I would never see her again.  I went and picked her up and she was a mess.  She had lost all of the weight I had been able to put on her, and was covered in cockleburrs.  And of course, was filthy dirty.  She was so excited to see me, though, and I was overwhelmed.  I had said that I was going to get rid of her if I got her back, because I couldn’t deal with all of that drama and heartbreak.  When I brought her home, she got into a fight with Kizzie, which strengthened my resolve to find her another home.

By the following evening, after spending about 20 minutes with Birdie and Kizzie together, seeing how happy Birdie was, how happy I was to be around her, and how good it was to see Kizzie so excited, I knew that I was going to keep her and nurse her back to health, physically and emotionally.  This poor dog has been through hell and back.  When she was found, she was over a mile from where she had went missing.  I firmly believed that God wanted me to have this dog.  I don’t care how corny that sounds.  I believe.

With Dr. Love gone, I am trying to figure out what makes me happy. I keep telling everyone, “I’m fine, I’m great,” and maybe in some ways I am.  I feel more free, but I experience terrible loneliness and cry often.  I have spent a lot of time in my life being alone, and doing fine with it — it has been awhile though.  I know it will come in time.  I have to remind myself that I am grieving something that I had always thought would get better and last forever.

One of the things I know I am going to have to do if I want to attain any level of happiness is to stop f’ing with my Cymbalta.  I have taken it, it has worked well, and then I stop.  I just stop and I don’t know why.  Ok, I do know why…I feel better.  I convince myself that it is something other than Cymbalta that makes me feel good, and I just stop.  When the low days hit, I blame it on a lack of sleep or the weather.  It is not the friggin’ weather.  It is a damn chemical imbalance in my brain that can be righted with a small blue and white pill and I am so willful in this area it kills me.

In other “let’s-try-to-be-happy” news, I have been walking, eating right, trying to lose weight.  The progress is slow, and the knees are painful, but I want to live for a very long time and that isn’t going to happen if I don’t get at least some of this weight off.  I want to be more active and not be so restricted by my size.  I know I can get there.

I tried to quit smoking on January 10th and it is a damn uphill battle ever since.  Some days are better than others, some worse.  I just keep trying.  That’s all I can do.

I have been thinking about getting involved in a local church.  I feel that I had forsaken God for years, and find that He has not forsaken me.  I am humbly grateful for all I have and all I can give.  I’m sure there will be more on this topic later, as I try to find a church that I enjoy.  For now, talking to God makes me feel more whole than I can remember.

Jeff Buckley, Hallelujah

This is the song I wanted to put for this blog, but couldn’t find a video I could embed.  Try this link.

6 thoughts on “Long Overdue

  1. “Hallelujah”

    Well I heard there was a secret chord
    that David played and it pleased the Lord
    But you don’t really care for music, do you?
    Well it goes like this:
    The fourth, the fifth,
    The minor fall and the major lift
    The baffled king composing Hallelujah

    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

    Your faith was strong but you needed proof
    You saw her bathing on the roof
    Her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you
    She tied you to her kitchen chair
    She broke your throne and she cut your hair
    And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah

    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

    Baby I’ve been here before
    I’ve seen this room and I’ve walked this floor (you know)
    I used to live alone before I knew you
    And I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch
    and love is not a victory march
    It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

    there was a time when you let me know
    What’s really going on below
    But now you never show that to me, do you?
    But remember when I moved in you
    And the holy dove was moving too
    And every breath we drew was Hallelujah

    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

    Maybe there’s a God above
    all I’ve ever learned from love
    Was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you
    And it’s not a cry that you hear at night
    It’s not somebody who’s seen the light
    It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…
    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…
    Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah
    Hallelujah, hallelujah

    Like

  2. Princess… slogging back thru’ some blogs, I notice that recurrent theme regarding AD’s. Things that make ya go hmmmmmm. Perhaps ya need a tag called ADFU’s. Then you could look back and easily find them…. could help ya figure out how to break that pattern.

    Might help, surely cannot hurt too much. …XOXO

    PS Extreme kudos on the smoking process. QofDN says attagirl!! Keep working at it.

    PPS Absolutely love the guitar… not so crazy about the voice.

    Like

  3. When two people split up I am never sure if I should say “I’m sorry to hear that” or “Congratulations.

    I think that the worst thing someone can do is to just quit taking their meds. We are on them for a reason. If you do well when you are on a particular med then stick with it. Maybe you can do even better. It is worth the try.

    You make a very good point when you said that you need to find what makes you happy. The one thing we often forget is that happiness comes from within us. Things can make us happy when we want to be happy.

    I am a major Leonard Cohen fan and I have seen him perform “Hallelujah” twice. It is an amazing song from an amazing artist. It is interesting to see that you like Jeff Buckley. I used to like his father’s music. This one is a lovely song by him that I dedicate to you and My Dear Queen: Tim Buckley “Buzzin’ Fly”:

    Like

Leave a Reply

