Long Time, Old Friend

Too long, too long.  So much has been happening lately!

First things first, I will be moving into a new home in a few weeks.  It was kind of a spur-of-the moment thing, in the sense that I hadn’t anticipated on QoB finding something SO perfect, but it is what it is and I am loving it.  It will be up North in God’s Country, close to all of my family and friends, and where I grew up.  I am pretty excited about having a house that is all mine again and getting a fresh start.

Everything has been going by in a blur.  Work has been ridiculously busy and there is no end in sight.  The 4th of July celebrations of last weekend are behind me and now I am so ready to just sit with myself and have some peace.  I might just do that all weekend.  Just sit in peace..

I have relatively little angst and have been feeling pretty good.  I’m pretty much sick to death of being around people and am really wary right now about burning myself out.  It’s good to socialize, but it’s good to stay at home too.  I had five days off last week, and while it was nice, it is good to be back in a routine.

I have been going to Catholic masses the past several weeks and am making decisions about where I want to do my RCIA classes.  I have never felt more at home than I have in the Catholic church and I am glad that I was strong enough to turn away from the church that wasn’t working for me and find my true faith.

Birdie’s cone (that she wore for almost three weeks after she was spayed) finally came off about two weeks ago and she is just now returning to the little doggie-dog that she truly is.  She is playing with Kizzie again and seems to be very happy.  I know I am happier now that they are getting along again…can you say dog fight?!

I think there are a few things that I have been avoiding thinking about lately, and they mostly revolve around death and dying.  It seems like it has been coming up a lot lately and I spend a lot of time and energy pushing it back down.  Still don’t really want to think or talk about it, but think it might need to be examined at some point.

Brad Paisley and Dolly Parton, When I Get Where I’m Going

 

Leave a Reply

