Shortie

It has been a bit since I have blogged.  Sometimes when this is the case, it is because winter is depressing me and I am feeling too blah.  Lately, it has simply been because I have not been giving myself much time to sit down in front of the computer.  It seems that I am finding other things to do, instead.

My house is coming along beautifully.  Seems like every so often some change or improvement gets made, and I really enjoy being at home.  Christmas decorations and tree (not decorated, just lights) are up, thanks to QoB, and it feels pretty homey here.

There has been a part of me that has not really been looking forward to Christmas.  I managed to buy two people gifts from Amazon, but still have four more people that I would like to find something for.  Last night at QoB’s, Big Dog gave me a bit of a lecture and said that it isn’t about the money.  Ok, it really isn’t.  For some reason, every year, I have spent tons of money on Christmas and I guess I really don’t have to do that.  Well, I CAN’T do that, expecially this year, because money is so tight.  It is hard to break that habit — the one that screams at you to find the perfect gift, no matter the cost.

I am not the best gift-giver.  I am not terribly creative when it comes to things like that, and it seems sometimes like I am not really sure what they might want.  It is kind of stressful because so many other people in my family are excellent gift-givers, and don’t even spend much money.  It just isn’t a talent I have.

Work has been stressful and I am dealing with some issues with the ol’ supervisor again.  It has finally become bad enough that I am going to talk with her supervisor to see if I can’t get a new supervisor.  I talked to my dad about it tonight, because I am getting really mixed messages from different people about whether it’s a good idea or not, and he made a lot of sense.  He said to just not make it personal, and stick with the issues that make my work life difficult.  That makes sense to me.  I guess I am mostly worried because my supervisor seems so vindictive and it is hard to say what she will come up with to say about me.

 

 

One thought on “Shortie

  1. I would say that staying away from the computer can be a good thing. Spending time on organizing and decorating is very healthy. You are getting your life in order and you are trying to improve it by creating pleasurable surroundings.

    Christmas will always be important when you have a family or a significant other in your life. You now try to come with ideas and gifts that can make someone else happy.

    Gifts can be tricky things. You want to find something meaningful, but that can cost you a lot of money and time. There are special things that you can come up with. One thing that I will do is to order Potica, a sweet East European nut bread, for people. I found two bakeries in the Mesabi Iron Range in Northern Minnesota that will sell it mail order and it is not really an expensive gift. It is something different and I believe that people do appreciate things like that.

    Bosses often create far more stress than the job itself. I believe that you are doing a healthy thing by setting up a meeting with your boss’s boss. Your father is right on in that you should with work issues that can affect your performance. You are trying to show that you are a professional. I do wish you luck on this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

