Blog for Mental Health 2013

Mental health awareness, an issue near and dear to my heart, is being put in the spotlight with the “Blog for Mental Health 2013” theme, being passed from blog to blog at this time.  Winning With Bipolar recommended my blog to pledge this year.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder I at the age of 16.  I have gone through times medicated, some unmedicated.  The ups and downs of the disorder have been very challenging, and I have lost jobs, friends, and many opportunities because of it.  On the other hand, I feel that having the disorder has made me a stronger person overall.  I blog about mental illness because I feel it is important to note that life still goes on.  I am now living a life I am happy with.  I am on SSDI and work a very low-key, very part-time job at my parents’ place of business.  I have found the love of my life and overall am quite content.  I do still have problems with anxiety and the up and down roller-coaster of bipolar, but my hills are not so steep and my dips not so low.  I attribute my success in life to therapy, DBT, family, love, and medication.  Living with mental illness isn’t a walk in the park, but it is very do-able.

This is not an award, but merely a mention of bloggers who I believe are true to intimately blogging about the struggles they have with mental health.  I would like to invite five others to pledge to Blog for Mental Health 2013:

Bipolar on Fire

Depression Time

My Obvious Little Secret

Bi{Polar} Curious

Bipolar, Unemployed, and Lost

A special shout-out also to Canvas of the Minds for the coordination of this event!

Now, let’s get blogging!

blogformentalhealth20131

6 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2013

  1. I just took the pledge myself and I’m visiting my comrades who are blogging for mental health.

    I was diagnosed with Bipolar in 1995 and have had many ups and downs, but am now blessed to enjoy relative stability. Blogging really helps.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

    Like

  2. Randomly looking through blogs that are listed on Blog for Mental Health 2013. Glad I stumbled upon yours. Your honesty is refreshing.

    Like

  3. Hello, there! I have no personal experience with BP, but it’s something I’m keen to understand better. I have struggled with various degrees of depression; I would describe my last, most severe experience with it as being trapped in a vortex of mind games, lies, and self-loath. For the veil to be lifted, be it occasionally or for good, is truly a miracle. I look forward to learning more from your experiences and insights! Stay strong! (P.S. If you’re interested, I blog about depression, faith, and life in general.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

