My Mom Saves My Life Everyday

I have sat pondering this blank template for some time now.  I want to write about my mom, and how awesome she is, but I don’t know what to say.  On my darkest day, I can always reach out and find her.  Or she finds me first.  Things have been a little bit more than rough lately, and she has been there for me every step of the way, nudging me along, dragging me through.  My mom can always be counted on to drag you through.

When I feel my worst, I call Mom.  We don’t always talk about how I’m feeling, but she tells me what missions she is working on and a funny story and an I love you and it just makes me feel better.  Not great, but better.  I know that she wishes all the bad feelings and thoughts would just go away, but her magic wand has been in the repair shop and it has been a long time since I scraped my knee and she decorated a plain band-aid with a pen, making it all better.  I wish times were like that now.

I can remember being little and Mom drawing this crazy bird.  I hope she remembers.  It makes me smile just to think of it.  She was always doing little things to let my sister and I know that she loved us like crazy.  I don’t know that I’ve ever had a moment when I thought my mom didn’t love me, or that she would abandon me, or that she would let anything bad happen to me.  She has always just been there.  Always, always, always.

Mom intuitively knows what will bring happiness to a person.  She gave me two bathmats, some plastic suction sticker things for my shower, and a new shower curtain today, because she was helping me get my house in order yesterday and noticed that mine were in a sad state of disrepair.  That doesn’t seem like much, but it means everything.  She knew without me saying.  She just knows things.

One of my worst traits is that I am a poor housekeeper, and one of my mom’s better traits is that she can get anything clean and neat and tidy and homey.  She came over yesterday and tackled several rooms, with me barely helping, with me mostly cleaning my kitchen or doing laundry, with me saying I can’t physically do something and her just jumping to the task.  The house looks so much better and it brings me such a sense of relief.  I know her goal was to help me find that relief.  And she did.  A million times over.  I wish I had taken a bigger role, helped more…my mind was not in it, but I know I will make it up to her.  She has done that kind of thing numerous times throughout the course of my life.

I remember living in a crap apartment right out of college, and not even having most of my boxes unpacked.  And Mom and the Big Dawg coming to visit.  And Mom having that crap apartment unpacked, looking cute and homey and clean in no time.  It’s just something she does.  She just has a way.  I envy her tremendously for it.

My mom is many other things, and this post is not doing her justice.  She is perhaps the smartest person I know, and I know a lot of smart people!  She always has her sense of humor and she works tirelessly to help her friends (and strangers!).  I can honestly say that my mom is my best friend and she is just.always.there.for.me.  Always.

6 thoughts on “My Mom Saves My Life Everyday

  1. Good to see my life in someone else’s eyes. De nada… ’tis what I do. Still working hella hard on embracing it (that concept). In the meantime, blushathon. 😉 Gracias mija, for the kind words. ’tis good to attempt understanding of being a better madre than the role model. Now stop it. QueenOfDaNile doesn’t accept compliments gracefully.

    Like

  2. MTLI, Madre. Infinitely and worlds better than the role model, not even a comparison. And you need to learn how to accept a compliment, or I’m going to start saying nice things about you on a regular basis…and how would you handle that? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

