Figuring Things Out

So after a week’s worth, possibly more, of posts about depression, despair, hatred, anger, misery, so-on-and-so-forth, I’m on an upswing.  For the past two or three days, I have been feeling much more like the “alive” Rose.  I have been doing more, accomplishing more, taking enjoyment in everyday activities, doing things I like to do, and definitely (I think, anyway) being a more enjoyable person to be around.

So what does this all feel like?  Well, it feels like I’ve had a lot of caffeine, but in a good way.  I feel extremely, almost scarily clear and focused.  I feel like I can accomplish tasks that seemed insurmountable just days ago.  I am facing upcoming rainy, Fall weather, and I feel like I’ll get through it without a glitch.

I have had a lot of structure the last two to three days, and I know that helps.  I worked on Saturday and Sunday, and had several things going on today where I was busy all day.  I accomplished a lot at the store and feel really good about the direction the winter season will take for my job.  I will be learning QuickBooks (book-keeping software) and more about Excel, and am quite excited about that.  I am even more excited that, in learning these things, I will be able to help my mom more and I can do the rote work and she can focus on the more complicated tasks.  It boils down to me being the QuickBooks bitch, and I’m okay with that.

I have decided to keep going to group, for now, even though I was thinking of not doing it to save money (it’s about a 30 minute drive from here).  Group has been really helpful for me, and I really do enjoy it, so when I brought up the possibility of quitting with QoB, she suggested to me that I might occasionally be able to afford extra money for gas.  Problem solved!

I don’t know why I hadn’t asked her about it before.  I just keep trying to stretch my weekly money as far as it will go, and know that there are some things that I once considered essential or wouldn’t have batted an eyelash over buying are now just not in the cards.  I have come to accept my more limited budget (I know, it’s been over a year now, but it’s a lot to come to grips with!) and be more creative with my money.  I also get a lot of help from QoB and the Big Dawg, which I couldn’t be more grateful for, and, frankly, would be up shit creek without their assistance.  My dad helps, too, when he can, and that is also appreciated.  Every little bit helps.

I think the key to all of this happiness and clear-headedness and contentment is keeping to a schedule, staying structured, and getting things accomplished.  I know this group I have been doing has done wonders at getting me to achieve goals I didn’t think were possible two months ago, like showering semi-regularly (I know, gross, but huge accomplishment).  It also helps me to have a job, even if it is a bit of a cush job and very low-stress.  I think I need to keep on with the structure, throw in a bit of sunlamp, and I am going to have a very functional, quasi-happy Fall.

And hooray for Ritalin.  Just sayin’.

5 thoughts on “Figuring Things Out

  1. This sounds a little like me when I move from a depressive episode to a manic phase, my manic isn’t like tv manic it’s more productive and mild euphoria that I’m getting things done. I hope you stay as you are and things improve more and more 🙂

    Like

    • mckarlie, I sure hope you’re right and this just going to be a little euphoric time spent getting a lot of crap done. My mania tends to get pretty ugly, so I’d like to stay away from that. Thanks for the well wishes!

      Like

      • It’s possible to be bipolar and have a good mood without it being mania. The sudden shift is perhaps not the best sign but all you can do is stay positive and hope for the best. I can see how mania could become a problem for some, I generally tend to enjoy mine but last time I took on too much and had one of the worst crashes ever, so I’m definitely more cautious in welcoming the mania. Here’s hoping you’re experiencing a good mood in the standard spectrum 🙂

        Like

  2. Ugh… “her” thoughts. Unfortunately, ’tis what happens to yer feedback from madre, when ya flop back and forth. 😉 From my point of view… I wish for stability for ya., and yeppers, “key’ is schedule. Utilize.

    Like

Leave a Reply

