And Sometimes I’m Nice

As I blogged about yesterday, my sister’s big baby shower was today.  And yesterday, I was not feeling being around a bunch of people, and, even worse, being around some people that I can hardly tolerate.  I have had a serious lack of sleep issue going on, and I can’t always be counted on to have my filter switched on during this sort of thing.

I have to give some serious credit to my sister’s childhood friends who, in the end, really put the show together.  I’d been doing behind-the-scenes work all week…ya know, scrubbing out a microwave, dusting off shelves, making party favors.  But my sister’s friends, who I will hereafter refer to as The Gaggle, made everything run very smoothly.

The only thing I was in charge of today was telling people where to park, and I thought that was just awesome.  The Gaggle set out food, mixed drinks, picked up plates, organized presents, facilitated the obligatory shower game (which I did not win, because I don’t have enough items in my purse, bwahahah!), and were just in general fabulous.

I stayed through the main shower part, and, even though I really didn’t feel like it, I was nice.  I made polite conversation without taking Klonopin.  I hugged a few people that I would rather never see again.  And I kept my filter screwed on tight.  I’m actually proud of myself.

When I couldn’t take anymore chit-chat, I hauled ass home and chatted with DSB for awhile about the woes of welding and fire pits, and then we came inside and I tried for two hours to take a nap.  I didn’t sleep, but it was quite restful to just lie there, snuggled in lots of heavy blankets, with my earbuds in, and my eyes closed.  To be frank, it was nice not to be talking.

Not sleeping really does a number on my body (i.e., I feel sicker than shit), and so DSB graciously made dinner tonight and went to the store for our two most important items — ice and milk.  Must-have’s in this household, although that might sound weird.  We go through a lot of both.  At any rate, I’ve been fed, watched a few episodes of Grimm on Amazon Prime (that is such a great service, it’s not even funny), and now I’m blogging, so all is pretty much perfect in my little world.

And I don’t have to work tomorrow.  And the time changes tonight.  Boo to that, but I’m trying to think positively in that I’ll get an extra hour of sleep, if I actually sleep.

So all that being said, go check out some wonderful bloggers featured in Rara’s Nano Poblano.  We’re on Day Two of a Never-Ending-Month (just kidding, I am loving it so far!) and need all the support and readers we can get!  😀

16 thoughts on “And Sometimes I’m Nice

  1. I happened upon your blog from the blogroll on BlogHer and I found a lot of awesome bloggers that I’ve relating coincidently, like you! I have social anxiety and depression as well and interacting with people especially family is killer! But I’m glad you went to your sister’s baby shower. It’s step one! Right?

    Good luck with NaBloPoMo!

    Like

  2. ’tis funny (not the humorous sort) how we all differ in our mental/physical response to an “event.” Some use the fight or flight approach. Some obviously just.endure.and.act.happy. And some of us just float, never bothering to examine the current state of mind/body until provoked by another’s thought-o-meter.

    For what it is worth, QofD actually experienced RosiesMRtiePants as at first, hesitant, then growth into apparent enjoyment of the event. The royal We sez ’twas Her idea to give her Princess the benefit of wearing the parking po-po hat. 😉 Plenty of outdoor space to meet, greet, then be done, and close by bushes to hide depending upon the tolerance level of the arriving guest. 😀

    Many kudos to you, for wearing the bestest of social filters. And believe me…the bestest most importantest part of a good party is all that “behind the scenes” crapola party prep. You, my beloved mija,ROCKED IT and OWNED IT.

    Regardless of what your nasty little inner fright/flight widget who sits at your left shoulder may have whispered to you in early days prior to the event, QofD knew you’d dance through it all like the T-Woman you are.

    A privilege, as always, to have my bestest party/kitchen witch by my side. Gracias for the support and helping make yer sistah’s day shine bright.

    Like

  3. Sadly, this is the change where you get one hour LESS sleep. I haven’t even changed all my clocks yet. Slowly slowly. Sometimes, if I procrastinate long enough, I don’t have to change them because it’s back to the other time before I get around to it. Now that is serious procrastination.

    We are officially Rowmies, so I shall be stalking your posts, but with no ill intent. Daily, throughout the month, I will be like your shadow, stuck to the soles of your feet 🙂

    You are braver than I. I long ago gave up party making. I used to, when I was younger. I was quite the party thrower. Now, the idea of putting that much effort into anything overwhelms me.

    Relax, rest. It’s Sunday. A good day to catch up with yourself.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Rowmie! I’ll be by your blog here in the next few, if I’m lucky with my Internet connection. I have changed all of my clocks over, and am so sad to hear that I was mistaken, that I didn’t gain an hour of sleep. My boyfriend would make a blonde joke out of that, so I might just not tell him. 😀

      Like

    • Yes, I am still slap-wore-out from it, although I did get a few things done today. What I really would have like to have done is lay in bed all day, but it wasn’t in the cards. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

