Blog For Mental Health 2014

As I did last year, I’ll be joining “Blog For Mental Health 2014” through A Canvas of the Minds.  The gist is that you vow to blog about mental health issues, promote awareness, and decrease stigma.

It isn’t really a conscious decision for me to blog ab0ut mental health.  It’s just something that I do, because, well, I have mental health issues and I use my blog to sort out my feelings, reminding myself of what has and hasn’t worked, and use it also to track my mood cycles.  So, the writing won’t change, there are no special prompts; it’s just blogging as usual.

In the original words of the founder:

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”  

Anyone interested in joining, check out Canvas of the Mind and Blog for Mental Health links at the top of the page.bfmh14-copy-e1388959797718

9 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health 2014

  1. And I would really like to add the badge to my page, but it deletes the link every time I put it in and I can’t figure out how to put it up using a file. Technology blows sometimes.

    Like

    • Hey! I had a lot of trouble getting it set in the widgets for the sidebar on Canvas this year, but I figured it out. It may be the image I actually have in the post is an issue, so when you try to copy it, well, the issues continue! I’ll try to get it fixed and see if it helps you!

      Thank you for helping to spread awareness!

      Like

      • Figuring out the image would help because I would love to put it in my sidebar and I wonder if other people aren’t having problems, as well. Looking forward to another year of mental health blogging! 😀

        Like

        • Hey Rose! The image properties all look good in the post. However, if you want to put it up as a widget, try using this for the image URL: http://acanvasoftheminds.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/bfmh14-copy-e1388959797718.jpg

          I know different themes operate differently, but that’s what I have both in the sidebar on Canvas and the sidebar on my personal blog (two different themes).

          If you’re still having problems, you can fill in the image alignment to Center, and the fields for width and height (350w by 307h). But I would start first with just the URL I provided here, that may be the simplest thing to do, and the rest is usually figured out automatically.

          Please let me know if this works for you, and thank you again!

          Like

  2. Hi Rose have you ever heard of WRAP.it is a wellness and recovery plan to help you through difficult times.It was developed by Mary Copeland. HANG IN THERE YOU HAVE A LOT OF SUPPORT OUT THERE

    Like

    • Hi, Scott! Yes, I have heard of it, and it is not offered in my county. Maybe it’s some stuff I can google and find a manual, I don’t know. Thanks for the suggestion, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

