Deep Within My Heart: Daily Prompt

From the Daily Prompt:  “For today’s prompt, tell us three things that you believe in your heart to be true. Tell us three things you believe in your heart to be false.”

I BELIEVE IN MY HEART TO BE TRUE:

1)  Those who have passed before us, look down on us today.

Here recently, I have felt the strong presence of my Godmother.  Not as a ghost or a spirit or apparition, just a very strong memory of who she was.  I can feel her near and the words that she spoke to me while she was alive are ringing in my ears when I am deep in introspection.  She was somewhat of a Southern genteel card-shark (if there is any such thing), and I have found myself drawn over and over again to the many sets of bridge cards that I was given when she passed.

Vintage Bridge Cards

Vintage Bridge Cards

 

I have had similar feelings with other now-gone relatives, mostly my Grandpa.  When my sister was married, anytime I’m on the lake, whenever there was a pivotal moment, I could feel him looking down on me and in my mind’s eye I can see him laughing, proud, with a big smile on  his face.

2) If you abuse me, and I don’t immediately leave, you will never stop.

I do not think abusers can be reformed, that being abusers in any form of the word.  I think it is easy to say, “I’m sorry,” and fall into that pattern again.  Because, really, that is the pattern.  It might take awhile, but once the physical, psychological, emotional, sexual abuse has occurred, it will happen again.  Always.  And if it’s not me, it will be someone else.  Not everyone deserves a second chance.

From personal experience, this is how it really cycles

From personal experience, this is how it really cycles

3) There is common humanity in us.

At the most basic of levels, we are all the same.  We are all human, we are all people.  We all breathe the same air and enjoy the same sunlight.  From a convicted murderer to a small child to a lawyer to a doctor to a panhandler to a housewife, we are all human.

I BELIEVE IN MY HEART TO BE FALSE:

1) God never gives us more than we can handle

God does give some of us more than we can handle.  What we do when that happens is up to us.  The best thing is to find more support, so that others can help you through what God is giving you.  I believe that is His intent.  If we stay alone, and it keeps being heaped upon us, disastrous things can happen.  Suicide, murder, all sorts of violence and loneliness, despair.

2)  Dogs don’t have souls

Really?  Look at me!

Really? Look at me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3) You can never be too serious

It has taken me darn near an hour to crank this out.  I have very strong opinions and beliefs on certain matters, and sometimes it seems like these opinions and beliefs contradict each other in some shape or form.  I started out wanting to do just a little light take on The Daily Post’s prompt, but soon I found myself brooding and frowning at the computer.

And then Kizzie (pictured above) jumped way up over the armrest of the chair and landed splat on my belly.  She licked my face, pawed at my shirt, wanting me to know I should pet her.  All of the angst over this damn prompt went away.  I really can be too serious sometimes, and while at times it is to my benefit, at times it is not.

I wish I laughed more, smiled more.  I’ve tried to get into the habit of smiling at strangers and the results have been positive, but somewhat mixed.  It seems to depend where you’re doing the smiling.  Walking down the street, not so well, but in a grocery store or Walgreen’s seems to be a good bet.

In the interests of everyone’s attention span, I want to wrap this gobeldy-gook post up with a thank-you to my friend, Sheena at NotAPunkRocker for encouraging me to mess around a bit with images.  My thanks to you, m’dear as this was a great stress release.

10 thoughts on “Deep Within My Heart: Daily Prompt

  1. Had I a place to forward this where more would view, I would. Well written, excellent thoughts, and oh, so poignantly truthful. You rock, T-Woman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

