I Covet No More

The Daily Prompt today is:  We all get jealous from time to time — what wakes the green-eyed monster for you?

covet:

to desire (what belongs to another) inordinately or culpably

I love words.  I love to say words, type words, read words, and I especially like to spell words.  When I read the daily prompt, it refers to jealousy.  I immediately broke that down to covet.  One of my favorite words.  Coveting leads to jealousy, coveting could really be called jealousy.  

If we think of the phrase “what belongs” in the above definition, and made “what” into something that could be material or immaterial, it clearly leads that there can be no jealousy without coveting.  At least that’s how I see it, and how I’ll use the words for the remainder of the post.

I’m not an especially jealous person.  I don’t really care when DSB flirts with the nurses at wound care clinic, I don’t find myself checking out other people’s expensive belongings with a little green in my eyes, and I don’t GENERALLY envy other people their material possessions (or, immaterial things, like grace, charm, social status, looks, body type, what have you).  I don’t even envy or covet other people’s good mental health.

I’ve brought this up before, and I’ll bring it up again.  What I have coveted for so long, what has made me so jealous is young (and older) people getting married and having babies.  I have so badly wanted those things.  In keeping with the post, I would say I have  COVETED those things.

For someone who cannot have those things, this makes the coveting of such all the more painful.  I see it.  I want it.  I know I can’t ever have it.  I still want it but it will never happen.  Really and truly, under no circumstances can it happen.  It just wasn’t meant to be.

Telling yourself, as you’re holding a newborn baby or sitting at a wedding, that you can’t have these things, destroys a part of you.  That jealousy and envy and coveting eats you alive, when you’re right there in the thick of it.  I used to spend hours and hours crying as I looked at Facebook of pictures of babies and of my friends’ weddings.

I had several bad moments when my sister was pregnant, that I was just so outrageously jealous, I couldn’t stand myself.  I would have killed to be in her shoes, to be doing what she was doing.  It tore me to pieces.  My sister having a baby solidified things for me:  I would never be doing that.

I’ve come a long way since then, and what I would say now is that I don’t covet having a baby, per-say.  I covet TIME with my nephew.  I covet daily photos and videos and chats with my sister.  I am fulfilling my now (mostly) silenced desire to have my own child, by living vicariously through my sister.  I am Auntie Rose and I have never been more proud or awestruck as when I am in that little guy’s presence.

As for the other part.  The marriage part.  I think it might not be all its cracked up to be.  I can’t marry DSB, and don’t think I would even if I could.  If I were to find another guy and he wanted to get married, I don’t know if I would want to (or if I even could).  It’s complicated, but at the same time it’s not.

Am I jealous of love?  Like the real love I see between my parents, or the real love I see between my dad and his wife?  I wouldn’t say jealousy is the right word.  And I know I don’t covet it.  It might be nice someday, but I don’t know that those kind of loves come around for everyone.

And so there is no more jealousy, no more coveting about marriage and having babies.  I’ll be Auntie Rose, but I sure won’t be having any babies, and I think I’ve come to a place where I’m finally good with that.  Maybe my sister will have a few more and I can move in next door and play “the fun babysitter.”  😀

10 thoughts on “I Covet No More

  1. Being an aunt is awesome. You get to visit and play and do the fun stuff, then when it comes time to handle discipline or bedtime or other icky stuff, you leave. Or if they come to visit you, you load them up with junk food and chocolate right before you send them home. 😀

    Being married CAN be great, but it can also be utterly terrible. I haven’t been following your blog long enough to understand why you and DSB can’t get married, but in all honesty, if things are working well now it’s probably best to just not mess with it. Don’t try to fix what ain’t broke, as they say in these parts.

    Like

    • I am really liking the fun aunt stuff. My sister won’t even let me hold him if he is fussy!

      DSB and I can’t get married because it would totally screw our benefits. Some might say that’s not a good enough reason, but we are barely making it financially as it is.

      Like

      • Ah, gotcha. I wondered if it wasn’t something like that. Given that you’ve got strong religious beliefs, would it be possible for y’all to have a religious wedding ceremony that wouldn’t be “legal” in the eyes of the state but would be binding in the eyes of god? Just trying to think outside the box.

        Like

        • DSB is actually anti-religion, so that probably wouldn’t work. We were thinking of maybe doing something like jumping over a broom (as weird as that may sound).

          Like

          • Doesn’t sound weird to me at all. If it wasn’t for the fact that our society has tied all kinds of “perks” to the legality of being bound together (like being able to have joint health insurance), I never would have married Josh. I don’t need some damn piece of paper to tell me what I feel in my heart.

            I seem to recall some sort of Celtic hand-fasting thing that might be a suitable substitute for a religious ceremony, but of course now I can’t remember the details. Damn drug-addled brains of mine…

            Like

Leave a Reply

