Ten Things of Thankful, Numero Cinco

Anxiety is so unreasonable, at times.  It didn’t want me to post today, but here I am, with a little help from my first two TToT.  Anxiety doesn’t have to win every time.

So:

1) I am thankful first of all for

Israel ‘IZ’ Kamakawiwo’ole

for providing the world with a little happiness in the form of this video:

RIP IZ.  The beauty and simplicity of music was not lost on you, buddy.

 

2)  I am thankful for finding this Dr. Seuss photo quote while attempting to burn off anxiety, pre-post:

Dr-Seuss-Quotes-random-33706483-500-367

 

 

3) The Dr. Seuss photo quote reminds me of all the books Mom used to read to us growing up, and then, as we grew up, that we read to her.  We were reading fools growing up.  I remember carting huge stacks of books home from the library and devouring each one.  To this day, myself, my sister, and my mom are all voracious readers.  I honestly don’t think there is any greater or more life-changing gift you can give your child than the love of reading.  Thank you for that, Madre.  xoxo

teaching-reading-6-500x333

 

 

4) On a related note, I am thankful to Shel Silverstein for bringing awesome books that were funny and ALSO meant something to young people all over.  The man was a true literary genius, and if you have kids, they should

be reading these books.  A couple of my favorites follow:

 

ev light wherethesidewalk-jpg

 

 

5)  I am thankful for free farm-fresh eggs (thanks Mom and Big Dawg!).  You can do so much with an egg, the possibilities are almost endless.  Check out some great ideas here.  We do a lot of scrambles with sausage or bacon and potatoes for dinner, egg salad, and the ever-popular egg sandwich on toast.  Leave your favorite way to eat an egg in the comments!

5170666_orig

 

6)  I am thankful for learning (ever so slowly) how to give up control and just let things be.  It is a constant practice, a continual embracing of willingness.

anxiety

 

7)  I am thankful for good health insurance.  Without it, I would be unmedicated and DSB would be mired in severe debt, or dead.  Likely dead, the way he refuses to go to the doctor when he DOES have insurance.  I don’t think Obamacare was the answer for everyone, but I personally know a lot of people it greatly helped.  Clearly, something is still broken when people are sick and can’t afford to go to the doctor, can’t afford the medicine to get well, the treatment to stay alive.  What kind of society, what kind of government casts people off like that?

???????????????????????

 

8)  I am thankful for the Regina Spektor Pandora Radio station that I created almost five years ago.  It has bloomed into something totally terrific.  There is almost never a repeat and so much more interesting and new music has piled in on the phone.  If you haven’t tried Pandora, I would highly suggest it.  Who could resist songs like this?

 

9)  I am thankful that getting into this post has almost totally resolved my anxiety.  I have been trying to work through it this past week without using Klonopin, as I felt like I was letting my DBT skills get rusty by not using them, and using the Klonopin instead.  So far, the results have been good.  I’m not saying I’m never taking Klonopin again, because I will, I’m sure — I just don’t want to rely on it as my first choice.

Clonazepammacro.preview

 

10) I’m lastly greatful for TToT.  I know it’s going to be there every week, and I look forward to it.  I like writing it and I like reading everyone else’s.  Feeling down and out?  Participate — writing gratitude lists should be part of everyone’s therapy homework.

You can link up to TToT over at Considerings.  She and the gang will be happy to come and give you a hello!

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful, Numero Cinco

  1. I’m a big fan of eggs, though I tend to reserve them for the weekends, particularly if they’re hard boiled. I work in a small office with crappy ventilation. And that’s all I think I really need to say about that. 😉

    Anxiety is a terrible thing. I’m dealing with a little right now myself. But I think I’ve achieved more than enough today and I probably deserve some down time. As do you, m’dear.

    Like

    • Yes, I know all about you and your boiled egg issues. 😀

      Anxiety really is my biggest issue anymore. The depression and mania, they’re fairly well controlled. I can’t seem to keep the anxiety in check, though. Some days are better than others, and some are worse. Just gotta keep on truckin’ though! 😀

      Like

  2. Nice goin on using the skills…not something you want to let rust as im sure you worked long and hard to acquire them! We have chickens as well…my best use is making friends dmile by giving them eggs! Hope the anxiety monkey stays away!

    Like

    • Thanks, Skip! No, I really don’t want them rusting away. I spent too long picking them up. I think my mom gets great joy in giving away chicken eggs, too. They have so many, though, that sometimes there aren’t enough people to give them to! So we eat a lot of eggs!

      Like

    • Thank you! I’m glad you dropped by! Regina is a little sparkle of light when things get dark, that’s for sure. Fidelity is probably my favorite, but there are so many more.

      Like

    • Thanks, naptime! Yes, Shell Silverstein is the bomb. I was actually thinking about loaning a few of them from the library for old time’s sake. I don’t want to be disappointed from what I remember from when I was a kid, but I just have a feeling the books are as full of juicy tidbits as they ever were!

      Like

    • Yes, yay for redirection! Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. I was able to go that whole day without a PRN, up until about 11:30 pm. Then I just couldn’t handle it anymore. I guess that happens and I can’t beat myself up about it. I have done pretty well the past week with not taking it, though, although I am allowing myself to be human and just take half or just take one if I really can’t meditate or busy myself or otherwise get myself out of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

