Stuck In My Head — a new series

In the comments section over at good friend’s blog (Hi, Sheena!  I’m sending everyone over to give you hell at NotAPunkRocker!), I have been convinced that WP is in need of some country music.  It is sorely underrepresented in all of the music challenge posts that go on, and I feel the need to rectify this.

To do so, I’m creating a new series on my very own blog, called “Stuck In My Head.”  Every so often, I’m gonna do a little brain dump of the songs that are currently stuck in my head.  Almost all of them will likely be country, and I’m hoping to gain some converts to the genre.

Country music gets a bad rap.  I don’t know how many times I’ve heard the, “it’s about a bad day where your dog runs away and your truck gets totaled or stuck in a mudpit and your girlfriend is cheating on you and you can’t get the tears outta your beer.”

Granted, there is some country music like that.  With the new series, I really hope to show the WP world that not ALL country is like that.  If any of my fellow bloggers are country fans and want to join in, that would be super.  Just link to the post and I’ll give you a shout-out in the next week’s edition.

Without further adieu, the top five songs running through my mind this week:

1)  Luke Bryan, Play it Again

You’ll probably see good ol’ Luke popping up on this series maybe once or every other week.  We listen to a lot of  him in this household, as he happens to be one of DSB’s favorites.  I especially like watching his videos because, HELLO, he’s hot!  (benefit of country music is that most male artists wear tight-fittin’ jeans with their boots)

And this song?  This IS my song.  God love ya, Luke, for capturing the essence of Rosa’s excitement for that one particular song.

 

2) Taylor Swift, Mean

Now, Taylor Swift is my GIRL.  She has bipolar disorder, yet is madly famous and down-to-earth and open.  She is probably my favorite female artist, and I have all her work on my MP3.

This particular song?  Kinda a nice version of a big eff-you! to all those people that brought you down growing up.  My favorite lines:

All you are is mean
And a liar, and pathetic, and alone in life
And mean, and mean, and mean, and mean

I mean, that sums ‘er up for most of the bullies in our life, doesn’t it?

 

3) Dolly Parton, Nine to Five

Dolly may be old school, but this one is a goodie.  Seen the movie?  If not, go rent it now…it’ll knock your socks off!  This is the lament of many a working woman (and/or man) out there.  I used to blast this when I was working at the prison, to blow off a little steam.  You might try the same.  (Sheena, what would  your coworkers think if they heard this coming out of your 0ffice?  LOL!)

 

4) Randy Travis, Look Heart, No Hands

You remember that feeling, right?  Coasting down the hill on your bike, closing your eyes and praying you wouldn’t fall?  Maybe on a dare?  Maybe because you felt so alive.  This song brings me back to my youth, back to when I didn’t have a care in the world, and then to the forefront of love.  And pretty much anything Randy Travis does is golden.  Word.

 

5) The Lacs, Country Boy’s Paradise

That’s right, we took most of America’s hatred for rap and country and combined them.  You have to take a listen, though.  This is a super-fun song that should be played often during the summer months when it’s all about having a good time with friends and family and being out on the water.  The Lacs will also probably make many more appearances on this series, as I totally dig ’em.

8 thoughts on “Stuck In My Head — a new series

  1. Love country …. or at least good country. Trio is a great album and Honkytonk Angels is another goodie. We were listening to it on the way home from the doctor’s office today and singing along. That’s one of the great things about country, that one can sing along 🙂

    Like

  2. First of all I must agree that Luke Bryan is hot. I don’t know much country music, but Mean ranks right up there near the top of my favorite recent songs. I think the reason people say they don’t like country music is because they are thinking back to the old twangy George Jones days. Country music has changed a lot since then.

    Like

    • If you think Luke Bryan is hot and “Mean” is a good song, you’re well on your way to knowing more about country music than you choose to. I think you’re right, though, about people associating today’s country with what it was like back in the day. Boo to that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

