Ten Things of Thankful, Birthday Edition!

Remember, you can join Ten Things of Thankful by linking up with Liz at Considerings.  Easy peasy lemon squeezy (I’m not sure that’s how that goes, but I don’t really give an eff, because it rhymes. Just call me Big Dawg if that ain’t it.).

Banner is courtesty of Mental Mama, and that link will also take you directly to her TToT for the week.

Without any further adieu:

TToT

 

1)  Maybe I should have been like Mama and labeled mine “10 Things That Didn’t Suck This Week.”  That’s kind of how I’m feeling.  My first thankfully thank-you, though, IS to Mama.  We were chatting and I am pretty sure I was moaning about how I really just needed a six-pack of Budweiser Cheladas (I don’t drink), and she brought DBT right into the picture.  Practice opposite to emotion.  My main emotion right now is intense anger and anxiety, directed at ol’ DSB (who can do nothing about all the shitty things he has done, even if he wanted to), so I am doing TToT because it makes me joyful and hopeful.  You get that — joyful and hopeful being opposite to anger and anxiety?  Sometimes I forget.  😦

deep emotion

 

2)  I am thankful for the support of my family.  I promise, this TToT will not be a rerun, because I always mention family, but it’s just THAT DAMN IMPORTANT.  My family is everything to me and sometimes, I lose sight of how hard this is on THEM, to always be there for me, someone who has special and magical bipolar powers.  For a perfect explanation, go to yesterday’s entry and read the comment from QueenofDaNile (mom).  I read that this morning and it made total sense.  For the first time in a long time, actually, it made sense.  I would copy and paste, but you wouldn’t get the full effect unless you read the post, as well.

family-quotes-image

 

3)  I am thankful for large packages of toilet paper and paper towels.  When  you’re buying them, you’re thinking, “Nine dollars?!  Really?!” but it’s so nice to rarely run out.  Thank you, Madre, for teaching me this invaluable lesson (and buying the last package of TP!)

tp

 

4)  I am thankful my sister is going to come help me clean this gawdawful mess up on the 10th.  I’m nervous, too, though.  What if she sees the squalor and runs?  What if I can’t keep up?  Ok, frankly, what happens when I can’t keep up?  I just keep remembering her words, “I love you unconditionally.”  “I would never judge you.”  Okay, breathing in and out now.  In, out, in, out.

House-Cleaning

5) Feeling a bit more frivolous as we go, and not to say that TToT is frivolous, but let’s all eat a piece of cake this weekend, because it is TToT’s 1st birthday!  I am so thankful I found this gem and I look forward to it every week.  I have missed a couple of times and I was always so disappointed when I didn’t make the deadline.

Ten Things of Thankful Birthday Banner

 

6) I am thankful for all the new toiletries and laundry stuff that my dad hooked me up with.  I am smelling clean all the way around, and I kinda like it.  The people around me probably appreciate it as well.  I hate to shower, and the soaps he bought me are very motivating.  And who knew that buying Tide would be a big difference after buying the $7 Purex all these years?  And having dryer sheets again has been phenomenal.  Now if I just had some elves to come put all this laundry away!

images

7) I am thankful that I was too lazy tonight to go and spend my grocery money on ice cream.  I really reaaaaaallly wanted a salted caramel shake from Sonic, a little bit of heaven, but I resisted.  That’s $2 I’ll have to buy healthier stuff with, and I’m not packing extra poundage onto my rear end.

download

 

8) I am extremely thankful that the Kizz Wizz was not injured and did not escape when a huge limb came crashing out of a tree in my back yard a couple days ago.  It happened while I was at work, and I was beyond relieved to see her trotting out her doggie door toward me.  Big thanks also to the tree service who were here the next day and totally took care of things in a matter of hours, including cleaning up after themselves.  The Big Dawg came and put the fence back up, and now we’re in business.

images (1)

Not my yard, but a branch just that big!

9) I am thankful for all suggestions for new music.  After DSB, I am so sick to death of country that I could spit.  It’s on the radio all the time at work, all the presets in my car are set to it (there is not a decent radio station anywhere around here), and the only times I can get away are either with silence or Pandora.  Too bad Pandora doesn’t come in your car…or does it?

download (1)

 

10) Last but not least, I am very pleased that my local library APPEARS to have the entire Jack Reacher collection, as well as one other (that I’m blanking on the name of, but that Marilyn recommended).  And that’s where I’m headed.  I no longer feel angry (in the name of opposite-to-emotion, Mama!).  I feel like I need to lay a good long while in bed and get my book read, as it will be auto-returned for me on the 2nd.

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful, Birthday Edition!

  1. I am glad you were able to come up with the list this week 🙂

    Did I already know you practice DBT? Feel free to hit me upside the head if the answer is yes and I’m just being dense right now.

    We had Sonic Shakes after the movies, but not salted caramel.

    Like

    • Well, Sheena, my not-a-punk-rocker friend…you should know that I do DBT because I do post about it from time to time, and if you looked at my categories cloud, you would see it in large print in all its glory. It’s ok though. 😀

      Jealous of your shakes, but still trying to be good. Grocery money should go toward GROCERIES! 😀

      Like

      • Ok, I deserve that one…but I thought you were cbt and I am on my phone! No excuses though, so I shall take my hand-slap in good cheer. 🙂

        Grocery shopping. I knew I forgot something this weekend!

        Like

  2. For sheer escape NOTHING beats a good book! Or even a mediocre book.

    Hey, that’s some huge tree limb. Wow. Good it didn’t land on the roof!

    You’re sounding better. Good for you. I have a mug someone gave me for a birthday years ago. It says “I never look back. I’m not going that way.” I always found it apt 🙂

    Like

    • That really is apt. I keep looking over my shoulder, but I figure I’ll give that up some day.

      And yes, there is nothing better than a good book as a way to escape. I’m really glad that my library has a good selection of e-books or I would be broke. 😀

      Like

  3. I look at those 4pks of toilet paper on the shelves at the store and think, “Who buys those?” When I die, my kids will find 29 rolls of toilet paper, because I doubt I’ll be able to give up bulk toilet paper buying even when I’m 92.
    It is a big benefit to live in the country, if only because it means I won’t ever run out to buy a shake or, more likely, a blizzard. Good for you, staying home and saving those $2.
    Sounds like you are surrounded by people who love you. That is just plain wonderful.

    Like

    • I so know what you mean about the 4-packs of TP. At Dollar General here, you can even buy it by the roll. I mean, who does that? I don’t get it!

      Living in the country would be a great way to avoid buying shakes and whatnot. Unfortunately for me, Sonic is literally less than two blocks away. Gah!

      Like

    • This is so funny . My mother is 85 and I am always telling her she doesnt need 4 twelve packs of toilet paper any more… the kids have moved out…all 8 of us! When she goes I suspect to find about 24 rolls and a ton of canned goods as well …

      DBT …Pragmatic food of the emotional Gods! You like all of us dont have ready access to skills immediately because its hard to remember anything but what is going on in the pinch… I mean really… even when in a verbal upset with someone… youre trying to use skill and still while they are talking you are thinking of the next thing you want to say instead of listening to them! We all do it…so long as you use them regularly they will become habitual!Dont cha think?

      Like

      • That’s insanely funny about the TP…I’m gonna be like that,.too!

        Yes, DBT is awesome…and you’re right, if I used the skills more regularly, it would be more of a habit. Maybe I need to start back to doing diary cards. :/

        Like

  4. i LOVE the Jack Reacher books. Seriously, Lee Child is a GENIUS! And nothing you say will EVER convince me to watch the film. Tom Cruise as Jack? Are you freakin KIDDING ME?!?!

    Glad you’re in a better place by the end of your list, and that the exercise was useful. It really does work, and I especially appreciate your list in light of the effort it took you to begin. You tackled it with determination and it worked well.

    I’m glad you have such a great family. I’m SUPER glad the tree fell into a space, not onto a person, and YES – I get panicky when there’s not much toilet paper in stock!

    Like

    • I saw the movie before I knew about the books and actually, it was pretty good, although I probably would have hated it, had I read the books first. I don’t actually remember much of it, though. I’m almost through Killing Floor (the 1st one) and I’m antsying to finish it up…I only have until tomorrow!

      Like

  5. Okay, I’ve thought. 😉 I love bulk TP… but ONLY if it hangs from the front once placed. The other way is the devil’s spawn.

    And not “remembering” DBT in the moment? Well, it’s sort of like having a plate of shrimp, some cold beer or honey whiskey in front of ya. Sometimes ’tis just damned hard to think. So sez me. TToT works well for ya mija. Carry on. …XOXO

    Like

  6. I buy enormous packages of toilet paper and paper towels, because I hate buying it and I hate running out. I also stash extra rolls of toilet paper in all the bathrooms, so when you THINK you’re out of toilet paper, you usually aren’t.
    Half price shakes at Sonic after 8 pm….

    Like

Leave a Reply

