Trigger Warnings – What’s the Point?

I have read several articles lately about this topic that I didn’t agree with — that is, people (educated, intelligent people) are saying that trigger warnings constitute censorship. Sarah clearly explains in her post just how that is not the case. I found myself nodding along with nearly every sentence, and I hope that you will click on to read Sarah’s full article. I rarely reblog, almost never actually, but this one really struck me.

bi[polar] curious

It seems that the topic of trigger warnings has recently exploded through the internet and beyond, and I have to say I have been somewhat concerned about a lot of the things I’ve been reading. It seems like there are some big discrepancies about what people think the point of a trigger warning is, so I’m hoping I can shed a little light here.

First, what is a “trigger warning”?

A “trigger warning” is when someone makes a conscientious effort to label content as something that could potentially trigger episodes associated with mental illness and PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder). As far as content on the internet is concerned, this tag is usually provided by the creator of the writing or video associated with it.

Are “trigger warnings” considered censorship?

No. Censorship is the suppression of words, images, or ideas that are “offensive”. In the situations where a “trigger warning” tag is being…

View original post 1,186 more words

4 thoughts on “Trigger Warnings – What’s the Point?

  1. I was thinking of writing about trigger warnings myself, but hadn’t had a chance before the recent news over the labels being used. Thanks for finding and reblogging this!

    Like

    • I know, I was wanting to do one too and just hadn’t gotten around to it. I probably won’t now, mostly because she said exactly what I would have said. I’m glad you clicked to read the full article. She often has pretty interesting ones, mostly about bipolar.

      Like

  2. It seems to me that the TW is a sort of courtesy (as opposed to censorship, IMHO) that a blogger can extend to their readers, if they choose. I try to be mindful of this but sometimes forget. I looked at it as a learning opportunity and sensitivity awareness exercise.

    That said, if I am searching the Internet for keywords relating to PTSD and trauma, I expect to find some things that are affecting – and hopefully informing. It’s my responsibility to click away from anything that will make me feel more traumatized. I have to be a good consumer of information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

