From Mentally Ill to Physically Ill

This has not been the greatest month for me.  I’ve had mixed episodes, rapid cycling, a stint in the local inpatient psych hospital.  I fee like I’m finally getting better from all of that, with the thanks of Abilify.  Hooray for progress!

So now, now that I should be able to go back to work and help the folks out and get out of the house and drive myself places, I’m sick.  WebMd had me convinced that I had bacterial pneumonia:

  • Cough, often producing mucus, also called sputum, from the lungs. Mucus may be rusty or green or tinged with blood.
  • Fever, which may be less common in older adults.
  • Shaking, “teeth-chattering” chills.
  • Fast, often shallow, breathing and the feeling of being short of breath.
  • Chest wall pain that is often made worse by coughing or breathing in.
  • Fast heartbeat.
  • Feeling very tired or weak.
  • Nausea and vomiting.
  • Diarrhea

I mean, I have every single on of those symptoms, some of them in the severe category.  So yesterday, I decided I was going to go see my doctor.  I was a little wary because she hadn’t ever seemed too thorough in my first two visits to her, but I was going to give it a go, and if all else failed go to the urgent care clinic across the street.

But I was proud of my doctor.  She took my concerns seriously.  She even took a chest x-ray.  She decided I have gastroenteritis (stomach flu) and a chest infection.  So, I’m on my way with Zofram (anti-nausea) and a Z-pack (antibiotics).  Too bad those things don’t make you feel 1000% better right after you take them.

I am on a clear liquids diet until noon tomorrow, at which point I start the BRAT diet for “as long as it takes to feel better.  3-5 days.”  BRAT stands for bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast.  I’m sure at that point I’ll just be happy to be able to eat anything solid without my insides imploding.

I still haven’t been able to get my fever down, so am changing clothes a lot.  It’s probably close to 90 degrees here and I went to the appointment in sweatpants and a sweatshirt.  Now I’m home in the cool AC and I’m hot.  I’ve thought about getting in the pool and then wondered if that would be a very good idea.  Probably not.

Mom has been a lifesaver with bringing me a thermometer, soup, and Sprite yesterday and she was also awesome today and brought me my Rxs, more Sprite, and some red Gatorade.  You can’t count on everyone, but you can always count on your momma.  At least I can.

No one is really wanting to come over and visit and no one has in a few days so it’s getting a bit lonely.  I have been doing a lot of reading, napping, and reading blogs on the computer.  I am sure that once the fever goes down and I have Lysol’d my  house that I’ll be able to get Dad or Mom to come by.  In the meantime, I’ll just have to keep entertaining myself.  At least my mood is tons better.  That I’m really thankful for!

18 thoughts on “From Mentally Ill to Physically Ill

  1. Oh, I am glad it’s not pneumonia, but sorry it’s still so yucky. Definitely push fluids, rest, and try to take it easy. I am glad your mom is looking out for you.

    *puts on biohazard suit* ((hugs)) 😀

    Like

  2. Be glad you DON’T have pneumonia. With antibiotics, 2 – 3 days, you’ll feel better. A couple more until you’re 100%. Glad it’s not viral because those don’t respond to antibiotics. You just have to wait them out.

    The pool won’t hurt you. The old remedy — still used in emergencies — for bringing down a fever is an ice bath. The cool pool will probably feel great and despite what mom may have said, it will NOT make you sicker!

    Like

    • You’re right, Mom kinda nixed the pool idea. I may try it today anyway. Couldn’t hurt, even if I was in it for a short time. I do need to try to get outside and get some sun shining on me.

      Like

  3. Aw, I’m sorry you’re sick! I know when I have a respiratory infection, the Z-pack has me feeling significantly better in a few days. I hope it works the same way for you. Sending lots of good healing thoughts your way!

    Like

  4. Good gawd, if it wasn’t for bad luck you’d have no luck at all right now. 😦 I’m glad to hear it isn’t anything more dangerous, but that’s a wicked combination. And the BRAT diet, holy hell – I lived on that shit for 6 weeks while the doc figured out why I was having such terrible potty issues. To this day I can’t hardly eat bananas.

    Hope the meds start helping soon. *hugs*

    Like

    • Ain’t that the truth? I hope I’m not on the BRAT diet quite that long, but from the looks of things overnight, I’ll be doing just clear liquids again today. 😦

      ((hugs!))

      Like

  5. I do not know if there is anything worse than being sick when it’s hot. It’s downright insufferable and I am sooo sorry you feel so ill with the heat and everything. I have my fingers crossed that the meds kick in quick! Hey, if you ever need company I am usually around (in a figurative sense of course).

    Like

    • Yes, it’s a bummer. Especially when you’re either hot or cold in the AC, and then you don’t know what to wear outside, and you roast in your sweatshirt and sweatpants. Gah! The meds had better kick in quick or I’ll be throwing a hissy fit.

      And where are you, GE, that I can find you for company? FB?

      Like

  6. Uuuughhhhh. 😉 Cannot be sick. Will continue to drop scfhtuff on yer front porch, then Shazzaaam the hell outta there. Let me know when yer actually not contagious.

    Swim if ya want… but no head under. Likely, yer best off to give it a few days, then go forth. Ain’t it fun, to go from MI to PI? Gotta love kismet. Might just be the right venue, to finish yer healing up? Hella glad to still see ya on the flip side. XOXO

    Like

    • The drop-offs are appreciated, Madre. Even if I’m stuck in social isolation like a leper. 😀

      That’s how I’m looking at it — healing from the inside out. 😀

      Like

  7. Well, at least the Abilify is working. That’s something. That virus will go away in a couple of days and you’ll be back to yourself in no time! Hoorah!

    Like

Leave a Reply

