Tug Of War

kizz2

Every since Kizzie was  a puppy (this pic was taken at about two years old), she has LOVED to play tug of war.  The name of the game was to get the toy close enough to you for you to grab, and then pull it just out of your reach.  Every once in awhile, let you grab it so we can play tug of war.  Once little Kizzie has “won,” she runs around the house shaking the toy.  Best puppy game, ever.

You would think with all this free time I have, I’d be blogging more.  I’m actually mostly sleeping during the day, playing with Kizzie, doing a few light chores, and chatting with friends.  There is a big cloud hazing over my brain and I can’t seem to come up with a decent topic, nonetheless the motivation to write it properly.

So I’m doing this little tug-of-war with myself that DBT would term “opposite-to-emotion.”  Basically, you make yourself do a little bit of that which is opposite to how you are feeling.

My opposite-to-emotions have been ranging from doing diary cards to picking up the kitchen to taking out the trash.  I think I need to add blogging in there, though, because I do miss it.

12 thoughts on “Tug Of War

  1. ((Hugs)) You’ve had a lot going on, so it’s understandable. I do know that “I need to write something but don’t know what that something is” feeling quite well. It’s frustrating, so good for applying DBT to that too since it is an activity you enjoy. 🙂

    Like

  2. You’ve had so much going on you deserve the break. If you force yourself to blog just for the sake of blogging you could end up resenting and/or grow weary of your blog. Enjoy your rest for as long as you need it.

    Like

    • Sometimes I would like to take a break, but I made that committment to myself to post every day (which I have so not been doing). You’re right though — I don’t want to resent this blog. Time to rest!

      Like

  3. And this is why I tend to setup daily themes for myself. No matter how well I think I have it together, the less I have to think on the fly, the better I seem to do. Hang in there, it’ll get better.

    One suggestion, if you haven’t already got this working – what about doing Building Rome again? It looked like that was helping you, at least some. This week’s theme of introspection might be just what you need.

    PS – the next care package I started last night is for you. 😉

    Like

  4. Mama, I have been doing Building Rome — I just didn’t get a pingback last week for some reason.

    I know that you and others swear by doing themes, but I have a really hard time writing that way. I’ve got to figure it out, though. May bounce a few ideas off you.

    Care package!! Squeeeee!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

