Seven Weeks of Weird: The Prison

7weird

 

Welcome back for another round of “Seven Weeks of Weird,” a challenge put on by Mental Mama.  With only this week’s and next week’s to go, I’d say I’m a little relieved this challenge is almost over.  Sometimes it’s hard to come up with weird things about yourself!

This week asks:  “What’s the weirdest way you’ve every earned money?”

Ahhh, ummm…by working, doing the Rosa thing,  helping out all those mentally ill people do everything from find a job to manage their meds to apply for disability and Medicaid to get a second pillow from the prison laundry.

Although I don’t personally think it’s weird, I spent three years working as a mental health case manager in a women’s prison.  I get asked all sorts of questions about that, and it really was an interesting job.  I was mostly tasked with coordinating all medical and mental health care, sometimes including housing, always including SSI applications for the women in the facility who met criteria for my program.

It was a stressful job and I don’t like to think about it a lot because it was the last job I crashed and burned on before I went on SSDI.  I can say for the most part that the staff I worked with were burnt out, uncaring, and rude at best, but the inmates were overall very thankful and caring.  Now THAT’S kind of weird, huh?

 

8 thoughts on “Seven Weeks of Weird: The Prison

    • Yeah, it’s not really weird although there are small daily things that are a little weird that I didn’t get into. And thank you for the compliment, kind sir! 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m with Bradley, not necessarily weird but definitely interesting. It sounds like you were doing really good things for women that much of society had given up on. And that’s a Very Good Thing.

    Like

    • Thanks, MM. I really do feel like I was making a difference then, which is perhaps why I am so hard on myself now as to how I don’t really feel like I’m making any sort of contribution or helping anyone.

      Like

  2. Know what it is like to go from working at one time in social service (I worked in residential treatment for SED adolescents) to going on SSDI. Quite a change. Challenging work, especially if you are struggling with an underlying mental illness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

