Ten Things of Thankful, Turn-it-Around Edition

This past week has been one of true growth, new realizations, (somewhat) painful lessons, and most of all, a focus on turning it around.  Turn around my perspective on health, both mental and physical, and revitalize and begin to use DBT skills again, like mindfulness, meditation, and willingness.  I am pretty sure I can easily bang a TToT out of the past week’s events.

1) Began meditating on a regular basis again, remembering that, for me, the easiest and most gratifying meditation is any form of the Loving-Kindness.

2) Turning away from wilfulness and embracing willingness.  Making the committment to be more open, to people and change.

3) Baby O still just rules my world.  His momma keeps me in pictures and I am basically getting to see him grow up everyday even though I can’t actually be there every day.  Everything about that little boy is so right and he has motivated me to do so much!

4) So what has Baby O motivated me to do?  Well, he is one of the many reasons that I quit smoking on September 13th.  I have hung in strong, and I have motivation from a lot of other places as well, mostly my health.  I know it’s not a “big deal” till you’ve done it for awhile, but I am proud that  I have not smoked for:

One week, 10 hours, 14 minutes and 21 seconds. 445 cigarettes not smoked, saving $60.15. Life saved: 1 day, 13 hours, 5 minutes.

5) Making a decision to not get mired in feeling sick.  Yes, I feel sick, but there must be something I can get up and do, even if it seems small and insignificant.  Then, if you might feel halfway decent, you slowly add another task and another over a course of a few days, and the to-do list that has been rotting  away in your hand, can be thrown away.  It is totally true that a body at rest will stay at rest, and a body in motion stays in motion.  I “get” that saying now.

6) My realization that a “family member” did not have my best interests at heart, and cutting that relationship out of my life.

7) Having grown to the point where I don’t have to spread juicy gossip, really don’t even WANT to.

8) Mom found a bunch of really cute clips for my shorter hair (with bangs…ugh).  I think this will all be workable in the end.

9) It is amazing the things that you find your postal mailbox.   No, not EVERYTHING gets emailed or texted.  🙂

10) The biggest thanks to old and new readers that were supportive this week I restarted blogging.  I realize some of it is absolute drivel, but like Marilyn says, it keeps getting better as you keep going (I paraphrase).

Now it’s your turn to head out to the TToT link-up with Liz over at Considerings.   If you don’t feel like writing a top 10, consider a top 5 or a top 3.  Or just go check out all the other crazy writers on this train!

24 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful, Turn-it-Around Edition

  1. Um, any time you can spend not smoking is a “big deal”. Good job and be proud of yourself!

    Funny, I am the opposite side of you on the bangs argument. I am willing to see if I can go another week before getting mine out of my eyes. I cannot imagine not having them!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. There are so many things I’d like to say, but maybe this isn’t the place to try and say all of them. How I wish you lived nearby. We would have so much to talk about. I think you are right to try and keep active, even when it’s the last thing you want to do … but you also have to respect your body’s need for rest.

    You’ve had such a hard time. I hope your health starts to improve, that at least you get some kind of diagnosis so you can start healing. It does get better. Really, truly. Sometimes, when you’ve been sick for what seems forever, it’s hard to remember what it was like to feel good. Maybe it won’t get “good” but it absolutely, surely will get BETTER. That may be good enough.

    Like

  3. For what ’tis worth, I see the pep in yer step. The desire to move forward. The personal growth that’s becoming a reality for ya. Surely we all have the ability to shine forth thru’ adversity…just a matter of remembering the dance. You have been fightin’ the devil of details, and are winning hands-down. Good.For.YOU. .. XOXO

    Like

  4. YAY! Well done for quitting smoking! It’s absolutely worth celebrating because the first few weeks are the hardest! You should definitely spend that extra day you have now on something awesome!
    And I hear you about gossip. I know it’s bad and spreads negativity but sometimes it’s just soooo hard!

    Like

    • Yikes, I am few days late with this, but better now than not at all, right? 🙂 I thank you for your support in quitting smoking…it actually hasn’t been ALL that hard. Now that I type that, I’ve probably jinxed myself.

      Like

  5. Well done you on the quitting smoking. That’s brilliant, and good for you for finding that inspiration. I hope the sickness goes away soon, and I have to say, that’s some determination to keep going, slowly but surely, to get all those things done. Good for you 🙂

    It sounds as though on the whole, it’s been a positive time for you. You seem to be in a period of very strong self-nurture 🙂 Keep at it.

    Like

  6. You are telling the story of my life. I had to cut most of my family out of my life, when I finally got my diagnosis of MS, I was really down for a few hours, but then realized that I felt better finally knowing the name of the demon I am fighting. It’s so much easier knowing the name of the adversary than having to deal with an unknown thing that makes you feel so bad, but you still look fine to the rest of the world who have made up their minds that you are just too lazy to exist. And for the smoking, way to go girl. That’s one I didn’t have to do, because the first one I tried gave me such a severe headache I never smoked a second one. And I do have bangs, because of my “widow’s peak” hairline that I hate looking at. The bangs keep it covered, but are at the point of being in my eyes right now. Time to get the scissors out again. Keep it up girl, you’ll make it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

