This and That

I believe I am committing a sort of bloggie faux pas right now.  I have a day’s worth of comments that I have not responded to yet, and I really need to blog, like right now, because I am starting to drift off and must get this daily blog thing in.  One shouldn’t put up a new post before making sure all comments are answered from the previous day, or should they?  I’ve never understood the appropriate protocol.  Please, other bloggers, leave you thoughts on that bit in the comments.  Maybe now we will get some truth!

I had a very nice day at work, hanging out with BlueCat.  We didn’t make a lot of money, but we made it fun, and that’s what matters.  Ok, so money, yes, is important, but we have to realize that we are in a seasonal business and the “fishing season” is over for everyone except the die-hards.  Like BlueCat and Snickers — they will fish until you can’t get a boat out over the ice, usually early January.  And then there are the ice fishermen, and, well, that’s just a whole different kind of man.

Realized today while looking at the odd ticker tape on my dashboard, that I have not smoked for one week, one day, 10 hours, 39 minutes and 7 seconds. 506 cigarettes not smoked, saving $68.39. Life saved: 1 day, 18 hours, 10 minutes.

I mean, if you think about it, 506 cigarettes is a TON of cigarettes.  There toward the end, I was probably smoking a good three packs/day.  That is just grossness…in my mouth and in my lungs.  Another thing about quitting is that you start to get your sense of smell and sense of taste back.  I have bad news folks — coffee is disgusting.  No, I mean it, its foul.  Tried it with my usual creamer, tried it with milk.  Coffee is a no-go.  This makes me sad because I really loved coffee and the zip it gave me, but I am going to bust out the Iced Tea Maker that Mom and the Big Dawg got me for my birthday.  I can’t possibly have lost my taste for iced tea…surely not.

So, on Tuesday I get to swallow a camera.  Yeppers, it’s not sci-fi, it’s my life.  Unfortunately you have to do all the prep work for the procedure, although its not quite as bad as colonoscopy prep.  The bonus of all of this is that I was able to talk myself into buying a couple extra Gatorades since I can’t eat anything tomorrow and can only drink clear fluids (Gatorade totally counts, they just don’t want you to drink any red or purple).  Keep fingers and toes crossed that this whole little episode goes well.

great sisters get promoted to aunt

That’s right…Auntie Rose in the house. 🙂

13 thoughts on “This and That

  1. Hey, don’t be surprised if everything tastes bad and weird for a while. After I quit, things were too sweet, too salty, too bitter, to spicy. Eventually it all came back to normal … what I liked before, I liked again, though with less salt, sweetener, and spices. Cigarettes numb your mouth, so when your sense of taste is fully restored, you usually need less of everything. You’re doing GREAT 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my, Marilyn, some things really are tasting and smelling awful. I did have a latte today that I very much enjoyed so I’m thinking, maybe I need to clean out my coffee pot or use a different creamer or a different brand of coffee. There may be hope yet! 🙂

      And thank you for your support, dear friend!

      Like

  2. Congratulations on quitting! Our mom and dad have quit too, they put on some weight, say their food tastes better, and are more healthy! Nevermind about the comments, the thing is, your gonna respond, whether you do it a day late, or a week late, your still doing it so that counts. BTW I love your blog! XX

    Like

    • Thank you! It is starting to become more real by the day. I’m still in that phase where everything tastes and smells funky. Gah. I know it will pass, I am just missing my coffee!

      And you’re right, the thing is, is that you ARE going to respond, no matter how long it takes. And if people can’t understand why I don’t reply right away, then I guess they haven’t learned very much about me here on the blog. That is my current attitude towards it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with your test, I’ll send out good vibes for you. ❤

    As for the commenting/posting thing – do what you can when you can, at least that's what I do. Sometimes I just don't feel like I've got it in me to respond to all of the nice comments, but I really need to vent about something. I wouldn't worry about it too much. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Mama! It actually went ok, for the most part. Will have results in 2 weeks.

      After I reply to yours and a couple more, I will be all be caught up with comments (yay!) but then really need to motivate myself to post. I have decided there will always be some unanswered comments, but that I’ll get there.

      Like

  4. My take: do what you need to do, sister. If you fall off my “liking” or “commenting” map for a while, I’ll understand. You need to take care of your stuff. I trust you. (The only reason I quit smoking 25 years ago was because I got bronchitis and blew phlegm with each puff. So no judgement from this guy.) Peace and love, John

    Like

    • Thanks for understanding in advance, but it is quite rare that I don’t comment or “like” one of your posts. You are one of a handful that I ALWAYS read. Each time. So, you’re stuck with me! 🙂

      Like

  5. Hello, Rose. I believe everyone of us commits blog-universe faux pas every now and then. I’ve been guilty. Been traveling lots and working long hours. Absences may have some consequences but, it’s generally okay. I guess it depends on what your purpose for blogging is, in the first place.

    Kudos to you for the hundreds of cigarettes that will never taste your lips. I’ve never smoked cigarettes. I can’t stand the smell. So, I can’t relate to withdrawals and all that. I can probably empathize with the difficulty of changing a habit, especially when you know it’s a bad one.

    As for coffee, boohoo! I hope you’ll enjoy it again in the future. In moderation, that is. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

