Ten Things of Thankful: The BIG Ones

Sometimes I get so caught up with what is in my head, what nonsense is spinning and scrambling and screaming at me.  As a wise woman said to me not too many hours ago, after I had thrown my temper tantrum and had my pity party, not everyone’s reality is the same.  And that is just so true — true enough that it struck me right in the heart, but I didn’t feel it lodged there until hours later.  So, that wise woman, and then the very special friend that messaged me, having a hard time, and completely brought me out of my own bullshit problem:  Thank you, both.

Thank you for making me remember that I have more blessings in my life than I am ever grateful for.  Thank you for bringing me back to myself and making me realize that wow, things are not just “ok” — they’re actually pretty darned great.  Without the wise woman’s words, and the special friend’s typing-back-and-forth to me, I would probably still be sitting here and listening to my sad music and crying and feeling sorry for myself.  Instead, I feel as if I have had a real “a-ha!” moment.

 

  1.  I am thankful for the basics, the things I take for granted every day — a warm home; enough food to more than feed myself, LarBear, and the dogs; working transportation; the basics of life that so many people have to worry about, which I do not.
  2. I’m grateful for LarBear, for our relationship, for him not giving up on me so many times when I have been whacked-out-symptomatic, for always giving more of himself than I think is possible, for always making me feel safe, secure, loved.
  3. For three parental figures who have been there, and continue to be there, for me no matter what the issue is.  Maybe I don’t always get exactly as much of your time or love as I would want, but I have never wanted for anything, and I know that when it comes down to it, you would be there with bells on if it really, really mattered to me.
  4. For the Kizzer dog, who has brought more joy to my life than I ever would have thought possible, and for Lucy Lou who joined the party more recently, but is just as loved.
  5. For a truly remarkable psychiatrist and mental health team, in general.  In addition, I have a wonderful medical primary care provider and good access to hospitals and urgent care.
  6. I am thankful for friends, online and not, that constantly keep me entertained, laughing, and sometimes cry with me.
  7. For the best DBT group I have ever been in, for all my years of doing DBT.  It has never made more sense, and I have never felt closer to another group of people other than my family.
  8. For my sister — for being who she is, for making time to call and text when she can, and always supporting me with her expertise when I am trying to exercise without breaking a foot or harming myself otherwise.
  9. For good books, and for an excellent library that keeps my Kindle full.
  10. For an ever-growing music library, thanks to LarBear

10thankful-banner

22 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful: The BIG Ones

  1. I agree completely that it is the very basic things in life that are the very best things. Too often I forget to include them when I count my blessings. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    • Yes, DBT is awesome! I know next to nothing about ACT, other than the name thrown around, but it seems to be getting really popular! I really think that group work in mental health treatment is important, although I can honestly say that it just terrified me for the longest time — but really, you just get different gains with it. I hope you can find a group to enjoy! 🙂

      Like

  2. such a tiny little thing, with so much potential for good…. (that not everyone’s reality is the same*), which, for me allows the largest, most potential good the possibility of change!
    good to see you here at the TToT!

    *maybe just that, on a certain level, we all experience the world on a personal level

    Like

  3. The electronic library is one of the best inventions for avid readers. I don’t have to lug a bunch of heavy books around everywhere I go!
    Sounds like you have a great support system, and many people in it. Most certainly something for which to be thankful.

    Like

  4. So glad you have a close friend who can snap you out of a low mood. Those are the best friends to have 🙂 Sounds like your family are wonderfully close-knit and supportive, and that you have a lot of people around you who love you. That’s awesome 🙂

    Like

  5. Awww, this is such an inspirational post…I don’t know whether to follow your lead and take note or be envious of the great support you have. Well I wish you much more happiness and health.

    Like

  6. This list makes me want to cry. It’s beautiful. I’m so glad someone was able to help you see that again, and I’m so glad that you have such beauty in your life. I hope your depression does not steal that realization from you again.
    Have a beautiful day sunshine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

