Rant-ish

***I almost didn’t publish this.  It is too ugly and ranty and paints me in a way that I don’t want others to think of me.  But this is real, this was my day, this was my evening, these are my thoughts.  I tire of apologizing for being who I am, for my feelings, for exposing the uglies in my brain to the outside air.  I’m not perfect and I don’t expect anyone else to be.

i wont apologize for who i am

I have spent over half my life in the care of mental health professionals.  Since age 16, to be exact, although I can recall being required to see school counselors as early as the second grade.  What was it that was so terribly *wrong* at such a young age, that I needed to see a school counselor?  I don’t remember exactly, and I really don’t want to hear the real answer, but I do remember that I have always struggled in relationships with my peers.

That hasn’t really changed.  My on-again, off-again personality pushes people away, as does my clingy-ness and rapid mood changes and social awkwardness and tendency to shut down completely for months on end.  I have a handful of online friends, that I do keep in close contact with, and I have LarBear.  Otherwise, I have family — QoB, my dad, the Big Dawg…all close to me in one manner or another, varying from one time to another.

For me, that’s enough, and it’s almost more than I can handle sometimes.  I have added peer support to my treatment mix, and it is one more person that I have to handle, and to be honest, I haven’t handled her well.  I cancelled our appointment today, fifteen minutes before I was supposed to be there.  There is no common courtesy in that at all, and I can imagine she is pissed, but I wasn’t able to make myself leave the house and go to that appointment.

I tried getting her on the phone several times, but that is mission impossible because I am not allowed to have a phone number for her that actually rings her line.  When my call is transferred from the front desk, it literally rings to a phone that is not in existence, and then goes to her voicemail.  Voicemail that she checks once a day, at best.  I have left her countless voicemails before, only to get a response fifteen minutes before our next scheduled appointment.  What kind of support is it, when I can only have access to her within the confines of my appointment?  I have better access to my med treater than that, for crying out loud, and this person is supposed to be “support.”

I suppose this is just me demonizing another person and blaming and complaining.  It’s what I would be told, and you know, frankly, I’m getting really tired of having my feelings invalidated.  It really is no wonder to me that I can’t get along with anyone worth a damn, and it has been this way so long, and so severely, that I really don’t see another way.

DBT helps.  Of course it helps.  Does my current therapist know DBT?  No.  What do we talk about?  I’m not sure.  I can’t really remember from appointment to appointment, which makes me feel as if I am having no gains in that department.  The lapses in my memory are frequent and significant, and I know it is because I am numbing myself and distracting away negative feelings.  I am not allowing myself to live my life, I am trying to just get through it.

And I am back around to that DBT saying, you’re trying hard enough, and you can try harder.  I want to put that on a billboard in my front yard, so I can look out my window every five minutes and see it flashing at me in bright red.  It is very frustrating to me, that I feel I am being written off by the mental health staff at the center, as someone whose problems are in her head.

I am still straightening out a few things and a lot of sentences in my head, and maybe tomorrow or the next I can post more about why I feel kicked to the curb by my treaters, but for now, I need to calm down or I will never sleep.  Sleep would be good, it would be helpful, it would make matters better.  One can only hope.

6 thoughts on “Rant-ish

  1. A support therapist who isn’t there for you isn’t worthy of the name. You have good reason to be angry.

    As for the rest of it? I was sent to whatever they called school counselors when I was very young too. Nobody tells you why. Not way back in the 1950s and not now. It would probably make it easier for us all if they would stop lying to us.

    Like

  2. I can soooooooo relate to what you’re saying, having a hard time getting along with people, being an on and off person, etc. I am so glad that you’re so real because it gives other people permission to be real too. I love you just the way you are. Don’t change a thing.

    Like

  3. Yeah sleep does help me too. Rose, thus is your blog and your life, and you have value. You write what you need to to feel better. And as the old saying goes: anyone who doesn’t accept you for who you are isn’t worth having in your life anyway…that’s a saying, right 😆☺

    Like

  4. At the risk of sounding all friendly and enabling… I don’t think your professional is very professional at all. My daughter is on number 4, due to the same phone and lack of response game. I wonder if they teach that in shrink school, because the ex-Mrs. Daniels would be great in that capacity… but I digress.

    You stay strong, know we are here (or not) as needed, and just keep swimming. =) =) You’re a gem and I for one am a better person for “knowing” you. Sleep well, eat nourishing foods, and enjoy the heat of the sun… assuming it has not been raining steadily for the last 200 hours or so, as in my new of the woods.

    Hugs to you, Rosie girl, and THANK YOU for never sugar-coating it. I want the REAL you. =) =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

