Weekend Run-Down

All things considered, it was a pretty good weekend.  Productive, if nothing else.  For once, Dr. Love and I had no place to be, no commitments, no plans.  It doesn’t happen often, really no time in recent memory, and it was actually pretty nice, which was surprising, as I’m a girl who loves a good plan and to follow a predetermined schedule.

Friday night was the end to a rough week and to be honest, I laid on the couch and watched TV all evening.  Dr. Love made dinner for me and it was really just lovely.  It’s nice to be taken care of so well.  I fell asleep on the couch around 9:00 p.m. while watching Battlestar Galactica, Season 2.0.  There was really nothing better that could have happened.

Saturday was pretty productive.  Dr. Love and I didn’t even sleep in too much.  He has been doing really great at getting up early, and it’s so nice to have him in the present all weekend instead of me tinkering around and him asleep on the couch.  We took Kizz to the Bark Park first thing, which was muddy but fun.  Making the grocery list was really hard, because I was trying to do minimal but still have a week of good recipes to use. I ended up pretty stressed out, but Dr. Love was able to calm me down, as always.

After going to the grocery store, we came home and cleaned (our new favorite thing to do, it seems) and I cooked broccoli chicken cheese casserole with rice, a tried and true family recipe.  Something I don’t even have directions to make, but know by heart from QoB cooking it from way back.

Sunday was pretty good, too, although we slept in quite a bit.  We managed to clean out the garage, Dr. Love changed the oil and oil filter in my car and added antifreeze.  I cleaned out my car thoroughly, including vacuuming and scrubbing all surfaces.  Between all the change I found in my car and Dr. Love counting $45 worth of quarters from our change jar, we decided we could spare a few bucks and go wash the cars at the self-wash.  Now I have a lovely clean car to start my new journey with and it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for quite a while.

To add to building mastery, I also cooked a new recipe that is simply sinful —  S’mores Pie from Eat at Home.  Divine, really, and also quick and easy.  We had the whole pie gone by the end of the weekend.  Also revised my resume so I can start sending it out.  Talk about a stressful process.  I think I have it down pretty well, though, and QoB is looking at it right now.  We’ll see what she suggests.

A fairly skillful weekend altogether, using building mastery (cooking new recipes, making meal plan for week, writing resume), distract/self-soothe (cleaning, cooking, blogging), effectiveness (cleaning out car, grocery shopping on weekend), wise mind (choosing to be productive but doing things I wanted to do).  My PLEASE skills were also taken care of pretty well, too.

Can’t ask for much more than that.

The Postal Service, Sleeping In

One thought on “Weekend Run-Down

Leave a comment